Gettin’ Ready For 40 (6 Months Early)


So this weekend my mom and siblings are throwing a combined birthday party for myself, my Dad and my brother. I will be turning 40 in December. My Dad is turning 70 in October and my brother turns 30 in September. I leave on Wednesday with the kids and I am really looking forward to it, even if it is a little premature. Actually, I’m the reason we’re having it in June. My work schedule in the winter months is so hectic that it would cost me serious bank to take a weekend off in December. So my Mom is having it this weekend!

I was asked to invite my closest friends to travel to Zanesville to participate in this celebration of me getting old. When she asked me to do this, my immediate reaction was…I don’t know who I’m going to ask! As I have mentioned in previous posts, I don’t really have a lot of friends. Most of the people I work with I would consider to be friends, but we’re most of them are working and live nowhere near Zanesville. By head count, here are the people that I have asked to this party who are my dearest friends…

J.T. – My best friend from college who lives in Memphis. His folks still live in Zanesville, so it’s a good chance for him to visit me and them.

Newman – He and his wife live here in Cincinnati. I don’t see Newman as much as I would like. He lives maybe 35 minutes away and works early mornings. But he and I have had many misadventures together through the years.

Chuck – My best friend from high school. Chuck lives in Columbus and is a teacher. Which is funny to me because his Mom was one of MY teachers back in high school…

Janet (aka Janice) – Yes…it is true that I missed Janet’s wedding because of work. And it’s one of the few regrets I have in my life. She has been a dear friend for over 12 years now and I don’t see her nearly enough. Of course, she’s 6’3″ and athletic…so she is still playing competitive sports while I play 1-on-1 against 7th graders…

Shayne & Alicia – Let’s see…how do I explain this one. Shayne and I went to high school together. Weren’t really friends at that point. Alicia and I went to college together and were part of the same group of friends. They met and got married in Cincinnati. We lost touch. Literally 15 years later and now they live in the house directly behind mine and have kids the same age. Weird stuff…huh?

There are a few people I wish I could have found because I would very much like to see them again, but that is for another blog. It’s not “This Is Your Life”…it’s a birthday party! So for now…this is the role call of my friends who will be attending my 40th birthday party. So now, when I write about it you’ll know who I’m talking about!

2 thoughts on “Gettin’ Ready For 40 (6 Months Early)

Leave a Reply

