Taking Advantage Of Not Taking Things For Granted


As I’ve been learning, there are things in my life that I take for granted every day. I take for granted that my wife will take care of my kids when I’m at work. I take for granted that whenever I go to visit my Mom & Dad there will be pork chops and mashed potatoes for dinner. I take for granted that my friends will always be there whenever I want to pop in for a visit. What I’m learning is that I shouldn’t take these things for granted…ever. Because you never know when things will change.

Last week I received some bad news…one of my closest friends is leaving Cincinnati for a new job. It’s a great job, I’m sure, but it is gonna suck not having he and his family around. I guess I always thought our kids would grow up together, play together and they’d always be around. Now that they’re going to be leaving, I feel as if I didn’t spend enough time with them. I should have been around more this past summer, hung out in their yard, had a few more beers and a lot more laughs. But sometimes busy schedules and a lack of time gets in the way of friendships and that’s just how it goes. Now that I know that they’re going to be gone, I wish I hadn’t taken my time with my friend and his family for granted. Either way, I wish them well (and I am not saying who it is because they are still making the announcement at this time) and I look forward to visiting their new home during my travels but it won’t be the same. I’ll miss their friendship and their kids. It’s always sad times when people move but this family has been a part of my life for so long that I can’t fathom them NOT being there. Hopefully we will get the chance to visit them once they get settled in their new home. Is it bad that I also hope they hate it where they are going and want to come back immediately? Yeah…probably… lol

This past weekend my parents came down to visit us in Cincinnati. In their time here, they got to see Ava’s volleyball team win their first playoff match, Christopher’s football team win their first round playoff game (with Christopher making a great INT and scoring the game winning TD) and one of Christopher’s basketball games (which didn’t turn out as well as the football game). It was so much fun having them here and it was exciting for the kids to have them see them in action. I know for a fact that I take my parents for granted. I am so fortunate to have such a great family and so I this weekend I tried to just enjoy our time with them. I shudder to imagine my life without my parents or my siblings. I love them so much and despite the fact that I don’t get to see them often, I always consider them to be with me wherever I go. There will always be a part of me connected to ALL of my family members. We are such a tight-knit family that it’s impossible to NOT feel that connection. Do I miss seeing them more? Absolutely. And so I try to take advantage of the time I get to spend with them, even if it is only a quick stop while driving through town.

On a completely different level, I also found out last week that I won’t be working an event that I have been fortunate to work for the last 7 years. My first Super Bowl was in Detroit in 2006. Since then I have been lucky to be invited back for 6 more. It’s a HUGE event and I have enjoyed being a part of the broadcast team that works to make it that way. This year I didn’t make the cut to go to New Orleans and now I’m feeling nostalgic about it. Despite the fact that it’s “just a job,” I guess as someone who gets to travel and work some really cool events for a job, I take for granted the fact that those gigs will be there from year-to-year. That is obviously not the case. So this year, I’m not going to be at one of the more prestigious events in the country. That being said, what I WILL do is appreciate the fact that I’ll be able to maybe attend a Super Bowl party with my friends and hope that maybe someday the opportunity might come around again some day.

So a new day is dawning. Friends come & go, family time is compromised, work events change from day-to-day. Life is like that. It’s an ebb & flow and I have to learn to row with the tide and not swim against the current so much. So in that regard, here I am learning that life isn’t something I should take for granted. I need to learn to appreciate what I have and take advantage of the moments I get because you never know when things will change and then *poof*…what you thought you would always have is gone. Take advantage of the best of times and love the ones who are so important in my life.

To quote from one of my favorite movies, “I am at home with the me. I am rooted in the me that is on this adventure.” So…this is me on this adventure and I am going to do my best to not take that for granted.

 

One thought on “Taking Advantage Of Not Taking Things For Granted

  1. Alan, Always great to read your thoughts….don’t read them all but really enjoy the ones I do read. Even greater to see your Mom and Dad at the three different events of your three kids. As for your topic, you and your kids will not lose your friend and his families friendship but they’ll get new ones with their move as I told my kids when we moved from Morgan Co. to Z’ville/Philo…..but as for Taking for granted”, your mom, dad, and siblings are the ones that you must not take for granted…..enjoy and cherish every moment with them that you get to be in their presence…..my two children were born in ’76 & ’78 and my parentspassed away in ’88 & ’89 so you never now what tomorrow holds…….so as you said so eloquently…..”Don’t take for granted”

Leave a Reply

