Am I Allowed To Hate My Child?


I figure, at best, someone will look at the title of this blog and think, “Man…there’s a guy under some serious stress!” and chalk it up as that. But here’s the deal…I love my children unconditionally, however there are days when I just don’t like them. For example…today. I don’t know that Christopher is doing anything out of the ordinary. He wants his breakfast, he wants to pet the cat, he wants to play his video game, he wants to watch t.v., he wants, he wants, he wants. At some point, I get really tired of what he wants. I want to read, I want to relax, I want to not worry about what HE wants and worry about what I want. Seriously…I get really tired of how the world revolves around Christopher. But isn’t that what 5 year olds do? They want. Not really because they are evil and were sent to this earth to drive us insane, but because at that age, they are purely driven by what they want, and dammit all to hell if they aren’t gonna drive you insane to get it!!! Anyway, I have managed to log on, read some email, and write this blog without any screaming being heard from either of my 2 children. I guess that is enough to keep me content until I drop them both off at school for my 3 hour break. And then I will pick them up and it will start all over again. Ah yes…I love my days off! Quality time to get Christopher & Ava what they want. Nothing quite as relaxing as that, is there? Ugh…

july-2006-122.jpg

This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Am I Allowed To Hate My Child?

  1. kcalland says:

    Dude. You need a vacation.

    And just since you have so much stress-free free time . . check out my latest blog post. I tagged you. You have repost what I posted, only about yourself!

    🙂

  2. Maren says:

    Just wait until they are teenagers and 20 somethings. You will long for these simple times.

    That’s what I keep hearing! Once again, my kids are awesome. But the constant need of attention gets a little old after awhile. And when they are in their teens and never want to talk to me again, then I’ll have something else to blog about! LOL

  3. sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

