Happy Easter


Easter is the Christian celebration of the resurrection of Christ. It is also the morning of eating all things chocolate. Although chocolate and giant rabbits are obviously not the most important aspects of Easter, it is definately something that a child looks forward to and which then puts an emphasis on the holiday (much like Christmas and gifts). For the past 2 years I have not been able to celebrate Easter with my family. And I know I am missing some great moments. Especially while the kids are young. I want to see my daughters face as she opens her Easter basket. I want to give my son a head rub while he munches on a peep. And I want to be there for my wife when she has to face the aftermath of all that sugar consumption. Needless to say, I am working (again) and this keeps me from enjoying all of those things. So I inevitably feel as if I am a bad father and a worse husband. I fight with that conflict every time I miss an “event” day like this (that includes holidays, birthdays, anniversaries, weddings and funerals). And through the years I have missed many. Steph understands (kinda), but I don’t know if the kids do. They will someday, I’m sure. But right now, all they know is daddy is missing another special moment. And that makes me sad this morning.

Happy Easter Kids! I Love You! Your Daddy.

happy-easter.jpg

This entry was posted in Family Life, My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Easter

  1. mandy says:

    Last week Alarik walked into my room as I was organizing the candy and baskets for Easter. “Whatcha doin mom?” “Nothing! Go play xbox!”

    The next day at work, we received an advertisement from a reflective insulation company…in an envelope made of reflective insulation. I wrote a letter from “E. Bunny” refering to his “earlier phone call” asking me to help out with baskets this year because he and Santa were busy building the new toy & candy factory on the moon and he wasn’t sure if he could get everything ready in time. I put the letter in the shiny, silver, padded envelope and mailed it to myself with a return address of something like “Lunar Industrial Park, 317 Spaceport Landing Drive, Sector 17 – The Moon.” When it came in the mail, Alarik was VERY impressed.

    Anyway, maybe next year you could get a letter from E. Bunny saying that he will be showing up a few days early or late. As long as they’re still getting their chocolate, the kids won’t mind a date change.

  2. Kim says:

    Is that candy from the mini-bar? Dude, your bill is gonna be HUGE!

Leave a Reply

