To Be A More Gracious Father


I don’t know about your kids, but mine like to give me stuff. Wait…let me rephrase that…

I don’t know about your kids, but mine LOVE to give me stuff. Doesn’t really matter what it is. Could be a used tissue. Could be a piece of painted artwork from school that is still wet and dripping all over my car. Could be a dead animal found lying on the sidewalk. They love me sooo much that no matter what it is, they want to give it to me.

I could be reading the morning paper. Christopher hands me his sock. I could be dripping wet and getting out of the shower. Ava hands me a toy pear. I could be watching t.v. and Ava hands me a toy socket wrench and Christopher hands me a McDonalds American Idol toy. It goes on endlessly! 

I don’t know how I should feel about this. Do I accept each “gift” graciously? Because you know, sooner or later they’re not gonna wanna give me the time of day. What is a father to do? Do I keep every little scrap of artwork? Or do I pitch it out with the Friday trash? Do I hold onto that snotty tissue, storing it in a safe place until the next time someone sneezes? Or do I hold it gently between 2 fingers and toss it behind the sofa?

I don’t know. It all seems so silly. But if my son asks me one more time where that note was he gave me last week that had his scribblings on it and supposedly said “I love you Dad” on it, I might go insane. I know I pitched it. Maybe I shouldn’t have. I dunno…

Any thoughts, dear readers?

This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To Be A More Gracious Father

  1. Danielle says:

    My daughter hands me everything too…used tissues, boogers, toys, half-eaten candy, empty cups………It is maddening!
    Just save some of the cute little drawings and notes. Maybe 1 from each kiddo, each month? Find a cool, manly box to place on your desk, to fill with the cute little things they give you.

  2. Kim says:

    Any day that I walk over to the school to get Jamison (and some days when I don’t), on the walk home, Jamison will pick “flowers” for me. Dandelions, clover, weeds, whatever he sees flowering near the sidewalk, he will pick it and it will be handed to me, or waiting for me when I get home.

    Sometimes he wants me to put them in the vase in my Beetle. And always, a couple days after, when they are dead and shriveled and in the trash, he will ask where they are.

    Apparently I have a very large collection of flowers on my desk at work.

  3. mom says:

    NEVER throw them away. I will show you some of your “artwork” when you get home. I think you know of one Snoopy that I treasure. I don’t think I have any dirty tissues, but you can get rid of that collection by telling Ava “thank you, honey. We know this is dirty and germy, so let daddy show you where it goes” and then show her. I know her and I know she is smart and learns quickly. Praise her when she starts throwing them away herself. Good job, Ava!, etc. As for everything else, get a box and go through it with them some time when you are home and they will tell you the most amazing stories of each item. When you are away, you’ll laugh and you’ll cry remembering those stories . Welcom to fatherhood, son………….Love

Leave a Reply

