The Top 10 Reasons Why My Kids Are Just Really Freakin’ Cool


Every parent is required to love their kids…but mine are a special breed. Don’t know what I did to deserve these two…but I must have won the baby lottery in a previous life ’cause these kids are just awesome. Here is my Top 10 reasons why my kids ROCK!

10. They go to bed before 8:30pm
They just do. Usually they are so worn out, they want to go on their own. Sometimes we have to prod them a little bit. But for the most part, at 8:30 it’s lights out!

9. They laugh at all my stupid jokes
No matter what I say, no matter how dumb it is, my kids think I say the funniest stuff in the world.

8. They are quiet in the morning until Mom gets up
Seriously, when Christopher wakes up in the morning, he sneaks downstairs and very quietly turns on the t.v. and waits for us to get up. Ava, on the other hand, is always the last one up…

7. They do well in school
My son has been reading and writing at a 2nd grade level. He’s now using math and learning how to tell time. My daughter is learning her alphabet and learning to count. Both of them like to do learning skills on their own without my help. And they both love books…especially when I read one to them!

6. They both like movies
Given the option, they would rather watch a classic Disney film than watch some crappy cartoon on t.v. (although both like Tom & Jerry…which makes them even COOLER!)

5. They both play well with others
Occasionally there is some miscommunication to who gets to play with what, but for the most part, they both share very well.

4. They both play well with each other
An argument here and some yelling there, but I’ve caught them playing and having a blast more times than arguing.

3. They both have an infectious laugh (and love to laugh with each other)
If I got a quarter every time I hear them laughing at each other in a single day, I could actually afford a tank of gas!

2. They like good music
In the car I never have to listen to Barney’s Hit Mix (but they do have the Alvin & the Chipmunks soundtrack. Thanks to Grampa Bobby for THAT special torture…)

1. They like just about ANY kind of food you put in front of them
How many 6-year olds do you know that want to visit Grandma’s house so they can get spinach?

So there ya have it. I officially have the coolest kids in the world. How about yours? Any other spinach eaters out there? Does your daughter like Onerepublic? Does your son let the dog out and gets the paper in the morning without having EVER been asked? There has to be some competition in the “Coolest Kid” category…right?

This entry was posted in Family Life, Kids, Thoughts, Top 10 Lists and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Top 10 Reasons Why My Kids Are Just Really Freakin’ Cool

  1. ashley says:

    My Ava is the world’s pickiest eater and dinner time is never any fun. You lucked out for sure.

  2. Kim says:

    My kids are pretty cool too but I’m told it’s because I’m a “cool mom” . . . so that must make you and Steph cool parents too.

    My kids love movies and music too. All kinds.

    I think this would make a good post on my own blog . . thanks Al!

  3. mandy says:

    Okay, so my kids hate meatloaf and are really just getting their second wind at 8:30 pm. But they all love spinach. And they all do well in school. Plus Kasey is playing Zep and Floyd now. So yeah, they’re cool.

  4. Danielle says:

    My kiddo loves some great music too. OH, and she does eat spinach, and pretty much any veggie but asparagus. And she prefers fruit over candy. And she loves yogurt! She’s THREE! 🙂

  5. Red says:

    Yep, you have cool kids.
    Mine is a cool kid. She may be a picky eater, but she looooves Johnny Cash. How cool is that?!!

Leave a Reply

