Internet Friendships…The Wave Of The Future?


I really enjoy this blogging thing. I get a lot off my mind this way. Even though I probably could be more crude and obnoxious, I got family members who read this stuff and I don’t want to offend (right Mom?). Anyway, I am perplexed by the way people stop by to read these posts. I can’t figure out if it’s random people stopping by, or if I have a steady flow of people who check in from time to time to see what silly story I’ve written today.

I know that’s what I do. I basically have that blogroll on the side of my site here and those are my normal stops every day. I like all of the writers on all of the sites that I list and I will sometimes stop by their site 2 or 3 times a day (depending on my access to a computer) to see if they’ve updated. Is that strange? Or am I the norm?

I’ve made many new “friends” this way. Ashley over at “…is this thing on?” is one of my favorite stops. She has 2 kids about the same age as mine. She is an awesome writer and has a good head on her shoulders. The other night she and her daughter were in a car accident and I admittedly felt for her, even though I’ve never met her! I think that’s kinda cool (that I was worried for her…not that she was in a crash). It’s too bad she lives in Michigan though…’cause being from middle Ohio, we all know how much Michigan sucks! But it still brings up an interesting debate…can you really have friends on the internet?

Interesting fact…my family is throwing my Dad, my brother and I a big birthday party this year. My Dad turns 70, my brother is 30 and I’ll be 40. I was asked to invite my closest friends. Come to find out, I have 3, maybe 4 (depending on how Janet feels about being considered one of my best friends). Other than that, I have a lot of people who I’m friends with…but they aren’t my best friends. Some people have hundreds of best friends (ie my wife), but I just have those select few. So…could someone on the internet be considered a close friend?

Thinking about it, maybe I am closer to the people whose sites I visit. It’s kind of a give and take. We give information out about ourselves in hopes that people will read about it and appreciate it. Then we go to their site and do the same thing. It’s not exactly a “friendship” in the traditional sense, but maybe it’s a “new” type of friendship that allows us to be involved yet disconnected. When I read that Ashley had been in an accident, it made me think about this. What if she had died? What if her daughter had been seriously injured? How would I have felt?

I do know this…I would have been very sad. And I think I would have done anything to help out in any way that I could. I don’t know what support I could have offered from here, but I would have done whatever I could! And I think that is something new for me. I don’t know if I would do that for just anybody. Especially someone I’ve never met before.

I recently posted my site on the “Million Blog List” site. I am number 1606. Needless to say, they are a few thousand off from reaching their goal of a million listed. But the main thought I have is that now I have at least 1605 new friends that, if I want, I can keep in touch with at any given time. And that number is growing every day!

So I am admittedly hooked on this blogging thing and I have definately enjoyed meeting new people and expanding my horizons in a new and exciting way. It is my hope that each of these new friends take care of themselves and are healthy and happy. And if there is ever anything they might need, I hope I can be there for them. As the song goes…that’s what friends are for.

Now…back to being snarky.

This entry was posted in Blog On Blogs, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Internet Friendships…The Wave Of The Future?

  1. Amber says:

    And here I was just saying how it brings me closer to my oh so distant brother. I was so in depth last night I searched for more and saw your vieos on utube. I liked “Ava sings Daddy”, and “Ava Kisses Mommy”. Can’t wait to read more tomorrow! Love you!

  2. ashley says:

    Well this just brings a tear to my eye. I think what this whole blog thing does is bring people a bit closer. There are so many of us going through the exact same thing: raising kids, working, living life, paying bills, worrying about paying bills, etc. It’s hard being a grown up and trying to make it through the day and do everything you are supposed to do without going off the deep end. It helps me to know that there are others out there going through the same thing as I am. So, I suppose it is a support group of sorts.

  3. Red says:

    Okay .. Ive been blogging for years, and YES, you can have friends via internet/blogs. It happens, and the folks on my blogroll are ones that i would truly consider a friend. If they were in my town, I’d be realtime friends with them, but of course, they live all over the world and not in my hometown.
    And I do check on blogs 1-2 times a day to check updates, so thats not abnormal. I found you through someone else’s blog, and I cant remember who’s, but Im glad I stumbled on over here!
    You’re hilarious and family-oriented and that’s what I like!

  4. And just as I’m reading this one over I get a comment from, oh, hey! It’s you! How are ya!

    :}

    2-3 times a day? So you’re the one….

    I use Google Reader to let me know when blogs I read have updated. I almost always click through on the feed so that the site gets a hit, but I don’t think I have the commitment to go through my list every day to see what’s been going on.

  5. I’ve been thinking the same thing about all this blog stuff lately. I also read about the car accident and of course, I’ve spent 2 years recovering from one so I REALLY empathized. Then I thought, “I don’t even know this person!” But there you have it … there is some type of blogging connection/bond thingy. Sometimes I am so eloquent!

  6. mandy says:

    Yep, this internet community thing is pretty nifty. But, due to my massive case of social anxiety that trancends the boundary between the real world and a webpage, I am still terrified of posting anywhere except on my big brother’s blog. It’s like the internet is Ohio University and Alan has invited me down for sib’s weekend, and even though I think his friends (hi kim!) are nice, I still can’t tear myself away from the pretzel bowl. Regardless, it’s still nice to lurk at all the parties (err, blogs) and read about all of the great, funny people out there. Makes my lonely, lonely office seem less…uh, lonely.

    And, yes, we know you could be more crude and obnoxious. I think the donkey picture proves that point quite well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

