4am Duty Call


I had someone write and ask me what it is I do for a living the other day. If you’ve ever watched a sporting event on television, I’m the guy who is putting graphics up on your screen. So when Ken Griffey, Jr is 0 for 4 and has a batting average of .123, I’m the guy creating that graphic that is up during his at-bat. It’s not a difficult job. I sit at a computer and type and go through lots of numbers and names. Not a bad gig.

One of the perks of my job is the travel. I travel a lot. And in order to do so, I have to be at the airport at any given time to get to where I’m going. This means I have to set an alarm…right? Well…in my case, no. Because the one thing that God has blessed me with is an amazing body clock! Don’t get me wrong, I do set an alarm and it has, on occasion, woken me up at 4am for a 6:30 flight. But for the most part, I usually get up on my own. This generally means that I am a very light sleeper and wake up several times throughout the night. Which brings me to my story…

I’ve been sleeping with a fan running in my room here at home since the end of basketball season. I love the “white noise” and it just makes me sleep so much better. Our house is older, so I hear every creak and groan whenever someone is moving in the house (which might not be a bad thing!). So if the dog gets up, I get up. If a cat jumps off the bed, I hear it. If my wife wakes up at 2am and decides to get a glass of water, I listen in…and then I have to go pee. That’s the way I am. Without that “white noise”, I’m at the mercy of the house.

For years now, my son has gotten up at the crack of dawn. It’s an amazing thing. At EXACTLY 7am, he will trudge downtairs with 2 of his stuffed animals and a blanket and go sit on the couch (very quietly) and read or watch t.v. He’s great about it, but I still usually hear him. So all this time I figured HE was the one with the body clock feature. It’s a gene that I’m sure can be passed on, so…I assumed he got it. But apparently I was wrong.

For the last 4 nights, my daughter has gotten up at exactly 4am crying because she has to go to the bathroom. Her room is upstairs, ours is downstairs. So with the fan running, I don’t really hear her until she’s in a full blown wail! My wife has has to kick me awake (I must be in REM state at 4am) and I go running upstairs and get her out of bed, help her do her business and then put her back to bed. Here’s the thing about 3 year olds…they get a routine and they stick to it. Ava won’t go to the bathroom by herself because she has a particular way that she likes to be covered up, with her blanket just so and her princesses lined up and her tissue by her side. Only mommy & daddy can do that for her (so she thinks) and so she cries. At 4am in the morning. For the last 4 mornings.

It is now 5:30am and I can’t get back to sleep.

She’s my daughter and I love her, but she’s killing me. But when duty calls…Daddy will always answer. Even if it means thousands of 5am blogs from now until she’s 20.

This entry was posted in Family Life, My Life, Silly Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 4am Duty Call

  1. Red says:

    Such a good Dad! No matter how agrivating it may be, she looks for you to help her .. that’s your job. It’s the best job in the world, aint it?
    Yep, they get those routines don’t they . . Currently, mine wakes up between 4-5 AM and slips into bed with me. For like the past 2 weeks or so. I dont mind it because the husband isn’t there .. But on the weekends when he is there, it becomes a problem 🙂

  2. Amber says:

    You are a great dad, and hey, it gives me something to read in the mornig:)

  3. mandy says:

    Seems to me that Ava has YOU potty trained! Teehee!

    You know, when you mentioned the whole sleep with a pillow over your head thing a few blogs ago, I immediately thought to myself “So, does that mean he doesn’t need the fan on anymore?” Thanks for answering that burning question before I even asked it.

  4. Thank you. Don’t mean to be such a nosy bitch, but you had peaked my curiosity!! 🙂
    I like your blog. I’m new to this blogging world and I have been trying to read dozens upon dozens of blogs, but I always find myself wanting to check back in on yours. So again – thanks!

Leave a Reply

