There’s Something About Mary


I like going to my dentist. Seriously! And the reason I like it is because of my dental hygienist, Mary. Mary is, in my opinion, the coolest dental hygienist in the United States. Love her! She’s really witty and she has a  boyfriend of many years named Alan, so that always makes for some fun conversation.

Anyway, I’m not gonna get into a long-winded discussion about going to the dentist’s office or anything like that. And for the record, I like my dentist also. But going to the dentist is always so much easier knowing that Mary is gonna be there to chat with. Doesn’t matter whether I have a giant hook in my mouth or if she’s flossing my gums, this woman is quite possibly the most entertaining person in my life! I see her twice a year, and every time we have quick, sarcastic and funny conversations. Like this one…

“When is your wife coming back in? She gain any weight yet?”

“I think she’s in next month, Mary. And no…she hasn’t gained any weight.”

“Oh…that’s nice. Tell her I said hello and that I hate her.”

And the rest of the visit goes exactly like that. She’s awesome! So if you are ever in Cincinnati and need a good teeth cleaning, I highly recommend Mary. Tell her Alan sent ya. Me…not her boyfriend.

As you can probably have guessed by now, I went to the dentist today. Seems that my teeth are sparkly and white! Now I can feel better about myself for another 6 months!

Yay for me!

(I gotta come up with more ideas for blogs today…but I thought you should know about Mary…LOL)

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to There’s Something About Mary

  1. Allison says:

    A dental hygienist who makes the whole business of scraping and flossing seem pleasant? This woman is to be revered and possibly worshipped. Maybe I can squeeze in an appointment to coincide with one of my husband’s Bengals games.

  2. I used to spend a lot of time in CN … I was a manager for Procter & Gamble. Got to say the climate in Calif. is a lot better, but the cost of living is not …!

  3. Amber says:

    I just had my 6 month, too! I have to say my dentist is cooler because they always put me in the room with a picture of a pom over the light. There are like eight rooms, but they know I like that one. So, they will always get my vote.

  4. Red says:

    It makes things go a lot easier if the folks are nice and entertaining, as you say .. Stuffy people bug me.

  5. c says:

    You had me at “I like going to my dentist. Seriuously!”

    You really are an optimist.

  6. trishatruly says:

    I came by because Red said she liked your blog. I like it , too! I don’t think many dental hygienists get such good reviews. I hope she gets to read yours! 🙂
    Ta!
    Trisha

  7. mom says:

    I like my hygienist, too. Her daughter’s name is Molly. Molly was the Queen of Philo in 1987. Love my hygienist. I find out all kinds of things that happened in 1986-1987. Love….mom

  8. Amber says:

    Uh oh Alan, what did you do? I’d start thinking about that if I were you!

  9. Mary says:

    Alan,

    Thank you, thank you, thank you for all of the super nice things that you said about me! You are one of my favorite people that I have the awesome opportunity to take care of. I am so lucky to work with some of the best people in the city of Cincinnati. This office sees some of the most genuine, kind and interesting people. I love being here and helping people have the best, healthiest smiles possible. I am lucky that I still love coming to work everday–and I get paid to do this too! I love it……..

    Thank you again, Alan,

    Peace and love,

    Mary R.D.H.

    PS Tell Steph hey for me.

Leave a Reply

