Driver’s Ed For Kids


I bought my son Mario Kart for his kindergarten graduation. Cool game. Pretty simple to operate. Stick the contollers in a little steering wheel and press the A button a lot and then go! Easy, right?

I was kicking Christopher’s butt in the first race, riding corners and picking up points. I was a driver on a mission. Knocking opponents out of the way, careening off walls and various other obstacles. I found if you press the up arrow you could go faster (but only so many times), so that even increased my manic speed. When I looked at my placement, I was running 2nd only to some princess who must have blown by all of us. I looked over at Christopher and had to laugh. He was turning his wheel left and right vigorously, face scrunched up in concentration.

“I need help daddy!”

“What do you need help with, dude? Press the 2 button and DRIVE!”

“But…I do’t know HOW to drive daddy!”

Oh…yeah. That’s right! LOL

Mario Kart is cool! But I guess driver’s ed might be in order for those under 8.

This entry was posted in Family Life, My Life, Silly Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Driver’s Ed For Kids

  1. ashley says:

    I wish those squids would quit inking me.

  2. mandy says:

    What’s scary is that, since our kids will have “learned to drive” on their game consoles, they’re going to think they know what they’re doing when they hit 16. And my son’s favorite part is the crashing, yikes!

  3. teeni says:

    Found you through Red at Dr. Pepper is Good For the Soul. This is a hilarious post. And did you really buy it for the kid’s kindergarten graduation or for your own guilty pleasure? đŸ˜‰ LOL

  4. Shane Bertou says:

    My five-year-old and I rock the oldschool Mario Kart for the Super NES every once in a while. But he gets kinda frustrated because he still doesn’t quite get the whole steering thing. Great fun though.

Leave a Reply

