Top 10 Rock Albums Of The 1990’s


I have to admit, the 90’s wasn’t my favorite decade for music. So I asked my brother and sisters to help out on this one. The only rule was this…I had to agree with them. It WAS their decade after all! So here are the Top 10 Essential Albums of the 1990’s according to 4 kids from Zanesville, OH. And if you disagree, I won’t argue with you…

Beck, Odelay (Deluxe Edition)
10. Beck – Odelay
(1996, My choice)


9. Radiohead – OK Computer
(1997, Mandy’s choice)


8. Nine Inch Nails – The Downward Spiral 
(1994, Amber’s choice)


7. Green Day – Dookie 
(1994, My choice)



6. Smashing Pumpkins – Siamese Dream
(1993, Mandy’s choice)

 


5. Soundgarden – Superunknown
(1994, My choice)

 


4. U2 – Achtung Baby
(1991, My choice)


3. Oasis – Definately Maybe
(1994, My choice)


2. Pearl Jam – Ten
(1991, My choice)


1. Nirvana – Nevermind
(1991, EVERYONE’S choice)
The most essential album of the grunge era. Kurt Cobain will forever live in infamy for his early demise and his Love of all things Courtney.

Apparently my brother had no taste in music in the 1990’s. He was into 50’s music back then. I couldn’t find a spot for Elvis in this list. Maybe next list Frank!

(Actually, Frank picked GNR’s “Use Your Illusion II” and my sister Amber picked Bush’s “Sixteen Stone” for this list as well. Can’t say I would argue against them, but I don’t know that I could knock any of the above out either…so consider them 11 and 12 and we’ll let them fight over who gets top billing…)

This entry was posted in Top 10 Lists. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Top 10 Rock Albums Of The 1990’s

  1. ashley says:

    I have many of those. 🙂

  2. Red says:

    Ooookay . . I’ll agree with all of these except for . . Oasis.
    My favorite being . . *decisions decisions* NIN. Definitely.

  3. alntv says:

    My sister tried to leave this comment…dunno why it wouldn’t let her so I decided to post the email for her myself…

    Actually, Alan, I said Radiohead’s Pablo Honey. I practically lived on “Creep” my frosh year of college. And what happened to Temple of the Dog? I thought you agreed with me on that one!

    Others I remembered after you left:
    School of Fish (was in my car’s tapedeck the entire summer before my senior year of hs)

    The Soup Dragons (“Divine Thing” and “Getting Down” were standard Maple Ave cruising material for my “too cool/nerdy to be popular” friends)

    Cake (the first time I ever heard “Never There” was as a radio dedication…on mother’s day. Ouch! Glad I’m not that mom!)

    Butthole Surfer’s (try to tell me you didn’t like “Pepper”…you lie!!!)

    And I still argue that Mudhoney’s song “Acetone” is a classic. To this day, Rick and I sometimes wake each other up crooning “Good morning dear, I think I’m losing it….)

    My response to the above:
    Yeah…but Ok Computer is SO much better!
    Temple of the Dog woulda made the Top 20.
    I got School Of Fish on CD!!! Wanna copy?
    Never got the Soup Dragons
    I love Cake! Seriously…”Comfort Eagle” is AWESOME.
    The Surfers ROCK! But not on this list.
    And I have to admit, I don’t know if I know ANY songs by Mudhoney…but they are coming to Cincinnati soon!

  4. Amber says:

    Uh, yeah, I said Siamese Dream. And NIN was definitely the best, thanks for your vote Red! Are we voting?:)

  5. mandy says:

    You honestly think I don’t already own SoF on CD? That one is still in regular rotation around this house. “Euphoria” never gets old! Crank that CD up til the glass in your windows start to rattle, and it just carries you away.

    Thanks for posting my comment for me. Don’t know what was up with that, I tried three times before I emailed you!

  6. Amber says:

    I would also like to add that you left off Blood Sugar Sex Magic by the RHCP, This is my era and I say it must go iup. At least the top twenty.

  7. mandy says:

    What the heck was the name of the music store that used to be in mall? I know there were two, though they are both gone now. Anyway, I was in the last one left looking for a new cassette tape back in 92-93 and a song came I that I thought was cool. I asked the guy working the desk what it was and he said “Cake” and pointed at a display. I erroneously picked up the album “Piece of Cake” by Mudhoney and bought that. When I popped it into my tape deck to listen to on the long drive home, I (obviously) couldn’t find the song that was playing in the store. But I ended up loving it anyway.

    And Amber dear, it’s MY era too! I was a frosh in high school in 1990 and graduated college in 2000. I own that decade!

Leave a Reply

