Girls Are Just…Different


I have known my share of women in my day. I grew up in a house full of them (5 by my count), dated several women through the years, been married twice, worked with a boatload of ’em. However today was the day where I learned just how different we can be. Today…I hung out with Ava.

Funny how a 3 (going on 4…and she’s a BIG girl now ’cause she can buckle her own seat belt) year old can change your entire perspective on how women tick. But today was a good day! And here is how I now understand the difference between boys and girls…I have spent time alone with my son.

I admit, I don’t get to spend as much 1-on-1 time with my daughter as I would like. But even she understands that she and her mommy are “shopping buddies” and that it’s something that the female species just enjoys doing. There’s no rhyme or reaason to it…it just is. And she’s very matter of fact about it. As a matter of fact, I can now say that after spending an entire day with Ava that she is a very “matter of fact” type of gal! The way she looks at things are entirely different from that of a 6 year old boy. She knows it and she doesn’t even care if you like it or not. She does what she does and she is who she is and there is really nothing I can do or say about it.

Today was a very cool day because I have gotten a boatload of stuff done! I took Ava to the doggie park to get Barkley some exercise. She never complained. I came home and worked out flight info for work. She watched t.v. and drew on her easel without a peep. I took her to the library to pick out some books. She picked out several and didn’t say “Can I get a DVD?” once! We went to lunch and other than a little disagreement over who got the lemon in their water, she was impeccable. We went to Home Depot so I could return something. All she wanted was to be carted around in the “car-cart”. I took her GROCERY SHOPPING? for crying out loud and not one time did I have to say “Stop it!”

She has been nothing short of an angel all day!

The times I have been with Christopher for an entire day (which is maybe once or twice) I remember this…I was ready to kill him. Not in a murderous sort of way…but in a “Daddy has had ENOUGH” sort of way. All the questions and talking and “can we play?” and “when are we going somewhere?” and the “can I have a snack?” and on and on! It really is quite maddening. Somewhere between Chinese water torture and being hung upside down by my toes is where I would put having an entire 24 hour day alone with my boy. I love him dearly. He’s one of a kind. But MAN is he high maintenance!

So for now…I see where this is all headed. Women are so far advanced than men and there really isn’t anything we can do about it. Because today was a setup. She is totally setting me up for when she turns 13. I see it and I know it’s coming and there’s nothing I can say or do. She has me by the heartstrings. Now I just hope I can remember this when she gets to be 13 and she looks at me with those beautiful eyes and asks…”Daddy…remember back when I was 3 and I was sooo good? Can I go out on a date?”

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!! 

This entry was posted in Family Life, Kids, Marriage, My Life, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Girls Are Just…Different

  1. Red says:

    Dude .. “Women are so far advanced than men and there really isn’t anything we can do about it.”

    You’re brilliant. You have figured it out. 🙂

    1-on-1 time is so much fun. I only have the one child, but when it’s just her and me and no one else, we talk. Rather, she talks. And talks. And talks. Annndd talks. And I love it.

    Cherish these times you have with them, Alan. Mine is almost 10. Where have the 10 years .. TEN YEARS .. gone?

    I don’t mind the talking (which is what Ava and I do), what drives me crazy are the questions and the demands (which is what Christopher does). It’s just a unique difference in little boys and girls. Especially between my 2 kids. Actually, Christopher is very much like his mother and Ava is very much like me. As much as I write, I’m actually not as chatty in person if I don’t know you, which is exactly how Ava is. Interesting, isn’t it?

  2. Red says:

    It is interesting.
    As much as I write, I’m not chatty. Quite reserved and shy, rather.
    A few of my readers will agree!!

  3. Amber says:

    We totally scared you about teenage girls, didn’t we! And 13 is to young to date, 16 Alan.

    I didn’t say I was going to LET her date at 13. But I am prepared for her to ASK to date at that age! Didn’t you?

  4. Danielle-Lee says:

    Yes, we are so very advanced, and we know just how to get you in our clutches!!! 🙂 I agree with Amber-13 is too young to date!!!! You better reel her in until she is like 40!!!

    40 might be a little much. I was thinking 35…

  5. Amber says:

    No, wasn’t interested in boys until Sophmore year.

  6. mom says:

    Amber has amnesia, although she was a tom-boy an awfully long time. Actually, group dating is okay at 13, like school kids going to the movie together and the moms pick them up. Although some of the things Kathy has told me since she has been married, maybe I was wrong to let any of you group date. However; Ava should not date until she is sixteen, no car dating with anyone who has had a ticket or any driving offence, and no group dating in the car because they distract the driver. That is when the accidents happen. Also, make it clear the places she is NOT allowed to go. But I’ll tell you this again in about 13 years, okay. (If I am still here then). Love…….

Leave a Reply

