London Calling!



Hey! Look kids! Big Ben!

Although I have traveled quite a bit for my job, I have yet to travel out of the country. Wait…that’s not true. I DID work a golf tournament in Montreal a while back. And that IS considered being out of the country. However I didn’t need to purchase a passport and everyone there spoke the English language and I didn’t have to travel over a large body of water to get there. So…I don’t count that as truly being out of the country. I guess I would say I have never been out of North America. Does that work?

Anyway…that’s gonna change this October. I have been asked to work an NFL football game at Wembley Stadium in London. The Chargers will be playing the Saints. It will be the 3rd time that a regular season game has been played on foreign soil and I’m gonna be there! Along with 90,000 other people (apparently that’s how many people Wembley holds)!

Am I excited? HELL YEAH! I’m thinking this is definately gonna be cool! I’ve always wanted to visit Italy or France first…but ya gotta start somewhere and it might as well be somewhere where they speak english…right?

So I figure I’ll go and work the game, and then stay an extra couple of days, drink a few pints (do they have “light” beers in England? Probably not…) and go see the Crown Jewels. Oh…and maybe visit Big Ben…and visit every location used in the film “28 Days Later”!!! This is gonna be so cool! (I am such a film geek…)

Anybody know any good pubs in London?


And I, too, shall walk the streets of London…

This entry was posted in My Life, Sports Talk and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to London Calling!

  1. I too have never left North America and am sooo jealous of you right now. 😐 Dang it. Sounds uber cool, enjoy.

    Well….I will be there to work. We’ll see!

  2. Danielle-lee says:

    Awesome! I soooo want to go to Europe!!!

  3. Kim says:

    Awesome! Think there will be room for me in your suitcase?

    🙂

  4. mandy says:

    That is awesome Alan. Even if it’s not Italy, I am sooooooo jealous!

  5. Amber says:

    O.K., since I am a Western Civ major, I have a passport already,and I have nine days paid off in Oct for my BIRTHDAY!!! (hint hint) you should take your little sis;)

Leave a Reply

