Top 10 All-Time Dumbest Songs In The History Of The World


Cruising around today and flipped on the radio when I heard a song that was a blast from the past! And it is also, quite possibly, the dumbest song ever. Will it be tops on my list of all-time dumbest songs? Let’s see, shall we?

10. Barry Mann – Who Put The Bomp (1961)

9. Yello – Oh Yeah (1986)

8. Sheb Wooly – Purple People Eater (1958)

7. Warren Zevon – Werewolves In London (1978)

6. Aqua – Barbie Girl (1997)

5. The Kingsmen – Louie, Louie (1963)

4. The Beatles – Octopus’s Garden (1969)

3. Sam The Sham And The Pharoahs – Wolly Bully (1965)

2. Men Without Hats – The Safety Dance (1982)

1. Rednex – Cotton-Eyed Joe (1994)

So the song I heard on the radio was “The Safety Dance”. But “Cotton-Eyed Joe” is hands down the dumbest song ever made!

This entry was posted in Thoughts, Top 10 Lists and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Top 10 All-Time Dumbest Songs In The History Of The World

  1. 95 south-whoop there it is

    Ooooh yeah…missed THAT one! LOL

  2. it says:

    god. cotten-eyed joe has a way of getting into my head in the strangest moments!

    hate, hate, hate, hate…that song!

  3. Kim says:

    Oh come on now! Safety Dance is an AWESOME song!!

    How can you proclaim yourself a child of the 80’s and not like Safety Dance???

    I know you know how to do the Safety Dance too . . . you can’t deny it.

    😉

    And the lyrics go like this…

    We can dance if we want to
    We can leave your friends behind
    ‘Cause your friends don’t dance and if they don’t dance
    Well they’re no friends of mine
    I say, we can go where we want to
    A place where they will never find
    And we can act like we come from out of this world
    Leave the real one far behind
    And we can dance
    Dance!

    We can go when we want to
    The night is young and so am I
    And we can dress real neat from our hats to our feet
    And surprise ’em with the victory cry
    Say, we can act if want to
    If we don’t nobody will
    And you can act real rude and totally removed
    And I can act like an imbecile

    Dumb, dumb, dumb. And I didn’t say I didn’t like it…I just said it was dumb!

    • Morgan Raider says:

      Dumb, but you like it?

      I KNOW you can riddle me this…

      If you can hit the open man on the give-and-go and not end up in the popcorn machine…

      How much change do you leave when you take a quarter off the top of the backboard???

      Huh? Who is this? I know it’s not Cheech…

  4. teeni says:

    Yeah, sadly some of the dumbest songs have great beats though. LOL. I like a lot of them but can’t really say that about cotton-eyed Joe or Octopus’ Garden. I always thought Safety Dance was stupid but it does make me move if I’m working in the kitchen and it comes on. LOL. 🙂

  5. I’m very disappointed that O-Zone’s Dragostea Din Tei – the Numa Numa Dance?
    That HAS to be at least in the top three, no?

    Woman…you are DEFINITELY out of my league…

  6. I forgot the rest of my sentence my outrage is such! Numa Numa Dance? Not in your Top 10 list? Aaaargh!!!!

    But you are crazy…and I love you. Weirdo.

  7. Amber says:

    I almost peed over the Numa Numa video on you tube. And some of those songs were fun to sing when I was little. Barbie Girl should have been closer to the top, hated from the first time I heard it.

    AMEN!

  8. mandy says:

    Oh, c’mon now! Quit hating on the Barbie Girl! Granted it isn’t the deepest, most moving song in the world, but it is fun! The girls and I like to change the title and lyrics to fit any situation. My favorite: Lumber Girl. I sing it at work all the time. Try singing along: “I’m a lumber girl, in a lumber world. I really like wood, it makes me feel good. That fresh lumber smell, it makes me feel swell. And when you have enough, you can build stuff. C’mon Mandy, let’s get handy…” I’ve got verse after verse of this stuff.

    See…you take crap and make lemonade out of it (or something like that!)! Nicely done sis! I kinda like YOUR version better and it makes more sense!

  9. Amber peed over the Numa Numa Dance. I think that this piece of trivia in itself justifies the nomination of O-Zone in the Hall of Fame of dumbest songs ever written.

    I love you too.

    LOL! Thank you! And I have GOT to hear this song…’cause I have no idea what it is! I might have to re-do my list on this one!

  10. Danielle-lee says:

    Dumb damn songs that some idiot liked, so they decided to go ahead and make it a hit. Ick ick ick!

  11. noobcake says:

    i woud of thought El Mudo – Chacarron Macarron CRAZY DUDE !!!!! CRAZY !!!!!!

  12. TexasJFP says:

    Disco Duck is by far the dumbest song ever made. It’s about a duck who likes disco music. A duck.

Leave a Reply

