Into The Wolff’s Den



Off to school they go!

14 boys and 7 girls. That’s the headcount for my son’s 1st grade class that starts on Monday morning at 7:30AM!!! I know this because last night the wife and I went and sat in teeny tiny chairs with several other parents to get to meet the woman who will be responsible for teaching our children how to read, write and do arithmetic. And walking into a grade school brings back all kinds of memories of when I was a young boy, just going to school for the first time. The fun times, the bad times and all of the stuff I learned…

Actually I don’t remember ANY of that stuff. It’s true! I swear I couldn’t tell you one thing about my first grade class. I remember this…our class was in a seperate building from everybody else. That’s it. That’s all I got. Don’t remember any of my classmates. Don’t remember anything I might have learned. Don’t remember the teacher. But I guess whoever my teacher was, she/he must have been a lot like Ms. Wolff. Because Ms. Wolff strikes me as the kind of person a teacher needs to be in order to be around 6-year olds 5 days out of the week.

Even though her name could possibly strike fear into the hearts of many a young child (with her BIG BAD TEETH and her CRAZY YELLOW EYES), she appears to be one of the kindest, most gentlest people I’ve ever met. Very soft-spoken and easy to listen too, I can only imagine my son will learn to love her like he has loved his previous teachers before her. And the best thing about Ms. Wolff is that I get the sense that she loves what she does. No pretenses there! Her room is filled with reading books and artwork and lots of things to keep the kids preoccupied and learning (although I was kind of curious about that bullhorn sitting on her desk. A little foreshadowing maybe?). I’m thinking Christopher is gonna love it! And Steph & I will also.

So this fall we can expect 10 minutes of homework a night. Lots of reading books for Christopher to read. New kids to get to know. This is going to be a very exciting year! I can hardly wait! And I hope that Ms. Wolff can handle those 14 boys…’cause we all know what kind of mischief those kids can get into when they run in packs! Or…she can just set the girls on them. 7 girls against 14 boys…I’m thinking the boys STILL might be in trouble!

This entry was posted in Family Life, Kids, School Daze, Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Into The Wolff’s Den

  1. mandy says:

    Alarik’s kindergarden teacher was named Ms. Wolffel, and I believe the bus driver we had when I was in first grade was Ms. Wolfe. (This was the bus that took us from St Nick/Rosecrans to the VoKay. She was later replaced by “Joe” of “bye-now” fame.) Hmmm….

    Was Joe the guy that called Ruth “Ruthie”? I don’t remember…

  2. Danielle-lee says:

    LOL! Bless that teacher for dealing with double the boys!

Leave a Reply

