Philadelphia


As much as I travel, you would think I would get to Pennsylvania more often. It’s a pretty big state and it’s along drive from one end to the other. But I really don’t work here too often, and I’ve only been to the “City of Brotherly Love” once before for work. So this trip I decided I wanted to get a look around. Staying in the downtown Marriott, it was a quick walk to see the Liberty Bell. It’s home is a nice little facility with lots of historical facts and fun nuggets.

After that, I walked around the area. Lots of statues, lots of old buildings, lots of restaurants, some parks. You name it, Philly has it. And it has great food! Of course there are the cheesesteaks and stuff, but the Reading Terminal Market is home to lots of healthy eating with all kinds of foods ready to consume! I was also close to Chinatown, so I enjoyed some Vietnamese wonton soup and shrimp for lunch!

The historic part of Philly is amazing! A few things to see…and lots of history to consider. Just wandering around, you can’t really get a good sense of all that has happened in history here, but it does make you appreciate what we have. Here are a few of the sights…

Independence Hall
The home of the Constitution of The United States is splendid!

The Tomb Of The Unknown Soldier.

One of many statues

Library Hall
founded by Benjamin Franklin!

Artwork on the side of a building. Hey…I didn’t say ALL the art is classic.

The most famous piece of art that Philly has to offer…and no…it’s not MY ugly mug! 🙂

This entry was posted in Places and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Philadelphia

  1. I’m jealous! Sounds like an awesome trip! You also made me hungry for wonton soup! ha!

    Yeah…I’m in Philly and I get wonton soup. Weird…ain’t it?

  2. Danielle-lee says:

    MMMMmmmmm…wonton soup.

    Oh, was I supposed to comment on all the american history, great architecture, ugly mug, blahblahblah??

    EVERYBODY picked up on the wonton soup. Go eat out people!!!

  3. heather says:

    I’ve always wanted to go there! You’re so lucky! Did you have Philly cheesesteak?

    Ya know…I didn’t. But I had it the last time I was here, so I went with the sandwich of the day which was an egg and peppers sandwich. Quite tasty! Oh…and keep checking back. You be amazed at the places I get to see!

  4. mom says:

    Two comments: 1) I don’t see any ugly face!!
    2) GWB was setting the wreath on the tomb of the unknown soldier and he asked “what’s his name?” True story. Check facts.com. OOOPS! one more comment….Go OBama!!!

    Okay, look…if you are gonna continue to push political statements on EVERY single thing that I write, I’m gonna have to blog about the election…and THAT would make you very happy I’m sure…right Mom?

  5. kat says:

    I’m jealous!! Someday maybe I’ll get to go somewhere. Sigh…

    Eh…it’s completely over-rated. And the bell has a big crack in it…

  6. It’s a lie!!! The unknown soldier is buried in Paris! Everybody knows THAT!!!

    Oh yeah! Let’s blog about the election!!!

Leave a Reply

