How Narrow-Minded Can We Possibly Be?


Abortion. Same Sex Marriages. Same Sex Marriages. Abortion. Abortion. Gay Rights. Blah, blah, blah…

Who gives a damn? I mean seriously…I think there are issues that are so much more important now than what a woman does to her own body and what 2 people who love each other want to do that won’t be a bother to anyone else. Why is it these issues are ALWAYS at the forefront of an election? Could it be because the media ALWAYS brings it up? Could it be because there are some very narrow-minded people who live in America who just can’t keep their nose out of everyone elses business? Is it because elected officials WANT to keep such topics in front of other topics that are so much more important and they realize that if they continue to put ABORTION and GAY RIGHTS at the head of the line everyone FORGETS the REAL issues and starts to whine and cry about the unborn babies and the homosexual couple who live down the street who shouldn’t be allowed to exchange rings because it’s against “insert religion title here”?

Who cares about this stuff? Seriously…why are we so feeble-minded when it comes to abortion and gay rights? It doesn’t make any sense when our economy is in the crapper (1 out of every 11 homes are in foreclosure???), we are at war for no reason, the cost of fuel is through the roof and so many other things are wrong with our country.

If I were to place a priority on abortion and gay rights, I’m thinking it’s somewhere next to “NOT IMPORTANT AT ALL” in MY life. I could care less what my neighbors do in the comfort of their own homes. If my wife and I decide we don’t want to have another baby and she gets pregnant, isn’t that OUR business what we do? I don’t give a damn what YOU think because, quite frankly (and please don’t take this the wrong way because we are friends and I would hate to lose that friendship), it’s MY life. You can go screw yourself. I’m the one who has to take care of the baby…so why don’t you stay out of it?

And as for gay marriages. If you’re not gay, and you are comfortable with who you are, and you like the opposite sex, and you aren’t living in the basement of a homosexual couple…WHAT DO YOU CARE if they get married? How does this affect your life in ANY WAY???

Get over yourselves people. YOU are not the one to say what anyone else CAN or CAN’T do. This is America (well…last time I checked anyway) and it has been based on freedom from the get-go. The freedom to love, the freedom to choose, the freedom to go wherever we want. It is also the place to go to speak your mind and say whatever you want…as long as it doesn’t interfere with the lives of others. And just for the record…abortion and gay rights is about the lives of others. So let’s move on and discuss something of substance…okay? Because if I have to listen to the candidates stammer through another 15 minute speech on THEIR thoughts on the “Rowe vs Wade” case because some dumbass brings it up again, I might have to go ballistic and write ANOTHER long-winded blog about this topic and I’m pretty much over it.

‘Nuff said.

This entry was posted in News Headlines, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How Narrow-Minded Can We Possibly Be?

  1. *Applause*

    Thank you! Thank you!

  2. kerry141 says:

    Oh well said, I could never have put that better myself *lol*

  3. bonnieluria says:

    Thank you- it’s apparently never nuff said because this horses–t keeps getting put in the forefront as a diffuser for how bad everything else is.
    Separation of Church and State?
    Where?

    What makes me angrier by the minute is how the media cannot make a derisive comment about Palins’ teen daughter, but yet she can blather about the governments right to tell me what to do with MY body!

    And hows’ this for stooping to all time lows- it’s not ok to bring up same pregnant unmarried teen daughter, but the Mc Cains on 3 different occasions during the RNC referred to their adopted daughter as ” the orphaned child with birth defects ” as the camera zipped around to share that lovely sentiment with 39 million viewers.
    It could make your head explode.

    Please don’t think it’s ever nuff said because if we all get quiet, we lose every shred of liberty we ever hoped to hold on to.

    Okay then! Guess I’ll just keep on speaking my mind! I love it when I get responses like this! Let’s me know I’m saying all the right things…

  4. mom says:

    Bravo to bonnieluria. Quote: leave our children out of our campaign, except, I have a birth defect child, oh yes my running mate has a special-needs child “sniff, sniff” , but please don’t use our children as campaign material. Okay…which way do they want it? Sympathy or ignore them? Any question on who to vote for: Are you better off now, or your family or your friends, then you (they) were 8 years ago? If so, vote McCain. If you want the U.S. to go in a different direction, vote Obama.

  5. bonnieluria says:

    Mom, Alan- how more people are not spitting mad and fed up is beyond my ability to grasp.
    And if they are, and remaining silent and complacent, then we’ll get exactly what THEY deserve.

    Thanks for the kudos- but we’re all in this and need many more voices!

    Go Alan, Go Mom!

    I am, by no means, as energetic about the election as my Mother. You wanna talk politics…let me know. I’ll get you her number! She’s kinda obsessed…

  6. Danielle-lee says:

    I am so glad to see others pissed about this stuff!!!
    I am so sick and tired of them bringing up abortion and same sex marriage as well. I couldn’t have said it better, Alan. I agree-it is THEIR BUSINESS. Leave them alone. Let’s talk about healthcare. Let’s talk about this damn war. The gas prices that WILL BRING SINGLE PARENTS TO THEIR KNEES. We need real issues fixed, not the shit that everyone wants to bitch about because they think they can tell people what kind of beliefs they should have.

    I was so mad when they brought up Palin’s pregnant daughter. Why? Because SHE IS NOT THE ONLY PREGNANT TEEN OUT THERE, and she’s one of the LUCKY ONES-she’s got support from her family. What about the ones who are in foster care? What about the ones that were raped? What about the ones who are kicked out of the house, and have nowhere to go? How about we stop pointing condescending fingers at these people AND COME UP WITH SOME HELPFUL SOLUTIONS???
    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

  7. kmcdade says:

    I share the rage.

    Rage against the dying of the light!

  8. kcalland says:

    I. Heart. You.

    Thank. You.

  9. mt says:

    I believe that as far as abortion, gays, whatever it is, why do it concern others. I agree leave those people alone, because what it boils down to is that, it is their life and we all choose our own path no matter what and so will your children. If you have a faith I believe your faith is not to judge others but guide them to be a servent of the most high, not to judge ridicule those who are not like you. I feel that only GOD can judge me not matter what I do or say. I feel that only GOD can judge those that are gay or believe in abortion. Those problems are between them and their maker not for us to judge. Let who that is without sin cast the first stone. (NO ONE). You do not have to be a part of it, you do not have to agree with it, but who are you people to be superior to those who choose things or ways you don’t agree with. What does that make you, what does that say about you, better yet what kind of faith do you belive in. You need to grow up and look in to your own closet and find out why you are so insecure.

Leave a Reply

