Bangin’ In The Bathroom


DAY 1:
I am sitting here, trying to catch up with everyone and all I can hear is hammering up in our bathroom. Today the excavation started! Our bathroom, kitchen, roof and siding will all be replaced before December! We signed the papers today for our loan (Yeah! We got it! Whew…) and now 2 guys that can barely fit into our tiny Cape Cod bathroom are ripping the crap out of it. I figure as long as no drywall comes crashing down on my head we’re all good! And hopefully, by the time this is all over, our home will look like new! I’ll be posting pictures as we go. Here is the start!

BEFORE

AFTER DAY 1

DAY 2:
YA KNOW WHEN YOU GO TO THE DENTIST AND HE STARTS DRILLING IN YOUR HEAD? THAT’S WHAT TODAY IS STARTING OUT LIKE. THE “2 SCOTTS” (Their names are Scott & Scott) ARRIVED AT 7:30AM…AND IMMEDIATELY STARTED TEARING TILE OFF OUR WALLS…USING A JACKHAMMER OF SOME TYPE. IT’S VERY LOUD HERE! OH CRAP…NOW I HEAR PIECES COMING DOWN INTO OUR LAUNDRY ROOM! THIS SUCKS! GOTTA GO! I’LL GET BACK TO THIS LATER!

AFTER DAY 2

6 inches?!?! That’s how much concrete was on the bathroom floor. And the 2 Scott’s took ALL DAY hammering and sawing and carrying concrete out of the house because otherwise it would just stack up so high they could never get out! Crazy stuff! And it goes to show how well homes were built 70 years ago. No wonder they last…they’re encased in concrete! Oh well…can’t wait to see what kind of noise they make tomorrow!

DAY 3 & 4

Well…the Scott’s managed to get all the concrete out of the house. I gotta give those guys credit. They hauled trash cans and bags and chunks out for about 6 hours and then got ahead of schedule and decided they were gonna tackle the venting and lighting! Amazing what these guys are doing! So now what are they doing? Nothing…’cause it’s the weekend. But on Saturday the upstairs bathroom toilet decided to leak again and flooded water all over all their stuff downstairs! We gotΒ  plumber to come over and replace the seal (only cost me $275), but at least now we have the ORIGINAL problem taken care of. Now it’s on to next week when the guys tackle the tile and more electricity issues.

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bangin’ In The Bathroom

  1. mandy says:

    Oh heck, Franky and I would have had that bathroom down to the bare studs in a couple of hours! Now whether or not we would have it usable again by Christmas is a different story, but still…

  2. hey thats exciting stuff…my master bath went through a one month transformation back in the spring…

    look forward to seeing your progress!

    I figure I’ll post pictures from time to time…but seriously…if MY blog about my bathroom is interesting to you, you need to get out more often! HA!

  3. Midlife Slices says:

    You know….that’s kind of a nasty title for a post. πŸ˜‰

    What’s so nasty about it? You dirty-minded woman? Never redone your bathroom before?

  4. Frankleberry says:

    Speak for yourself mandy, I remodelled my master bath in 9 days start to finish. AND that was my first project EVER, never swung a hammer before and haven’t put it down since. Mandy would take like 11 days…..slow poke.

    Yeah…and I would take me 3 years. For those who don’t know my brother, he IS the greatest man to ever hold a hammer. At least, in HIS eyes, he is! LOL

  5. mandy says:

    Well Frank, I was actually referring to the time that you and Bill completely ANNIHILATED my bathroom up in Westerville and then never showed up to rebuild it. Which is cool, because that’s how I ended up picking up the hammer that I haven’t put down since. What is it about hammers that are so addictive to members of this family? I can’t wait to gut the girls’ bathroom this winter! Woohoo! (wait…can I still say “woohoo” or was that bought out by BofA when they took over WAMU?)

  6. Good luck with the project!

  7. awww Alan…I just love a good remodeling project is all.

    I will be glued to the tube whenever HGTV airs an episode of their new “My Big Amazing Renovation”…

    Fair enough! I know there are a lot of people who love those shows! My wife is one of them! And I used to watch every now and then…so I hope I don’t disappoint! πŸ™‚

  8. If it will inspire you, Ill post up some of my remodeling.

    Sure! I’ll check it out! πŸ™‚

  9. thistle says:

    hmmm…now my mind went the same place as MLS’…wasn’t sure what this was going to be about….

    and for the record…it seems like this IS a renovation show…complete with dueling hosts…

    Uh yeah. For the record…I’m married. Soooo…that pretty much means the bathroom is out (and so is the kitchen, the living room, the basement and most of the bedrooms). As for my siblings…they could squabble about what the weather was like 2 days ago…so don’t take it too seriously! πŸ™‚

  10. thistle says:

    OMG…those are your relatives!! that is funny… πŸ˜†

  11. Danielle-lee says:

    Wow! Can’t wait to see how it comes out!! And…the title? You are sooo a 12 year old boy.

    Yeah…I am. I can’t help myself! LOL

  12. Pingback: The Blogosphere Home Tour « Tales From The Vinyl Village

Leave a Reply

