Happy Birthday Mom!


So my Mom is in Florida looking at rental properties (much to the chagrin of my Dad), and so I was gonna try to do something creative and write a really nice long blog about how much I love her and how much she means to me and that would have been all well and good if I hadn’t woken up to a torrential downpour in my brand new bathroom yesterday!

I woke up yesterday morning to the sound of “drip, drip, drip” and went to see why the water was on and LO & BEHOLD! Water was coming from the ceiling fan! HOLY CRAP! So I ran upstairs (this is at 6am) and there is water flooding our upstairs bathroom! I thought maybe the toilet had overflowed, but it was actually the sink had a busted valve and water was pouring out of the cabinet underneath the sink. So I tried shutting off the water there, but the damn thing wouldn’t shut completely so I yelled down to my wife (who was sleeping peacefully) as I tried plugging the leaky valve with my hand only to have it completely come apart and water starts GUSHING everywhere! I hear her yelling and then both kids woke up and they were scared and we finally got the water off and had flooding upstairs, downstairs and a little in the basement!

Once we got all the water cleaned up, I tried to get the valve thingee free, but didn’t have the right tool to get it (the bolt was stripped), so Steph called a plumber to come over and the guys who were working on our downstairs bathroom came over and put giant blowers all over the place (just like when the toilet line busted just last week!) and now I think we’re fine.

After that I had to get Ava lunch, get her to school, go to work for 2 hours, pick up Christopher from school, get Ava from school, take Ava to dance class, take Christopher to the park to play football, pick Ava up from class, get them both fed, get them both to bed and then I should have written you a really nice blog. But I am still jet-lagged and went to bed around 9:35.

Needless to say, in all the confusion and the really long day, not only did I not blog a Happy Birthday to the one woman who means so much to me, but I didn’t call her either! So now I feel really guilty and somewhat pathetic.

So this is a Happy Birthday to my Mother. The greatest, most loving, most caring, most UNDERSTANDING woman in the whole world…I love you and I hope you are having fun house-shopping in the Sunshine State! Come home safely and I will see you on Thanksgiving! 🙂

-Your son

P.S. Did you know that it’s less than a week until Election Day? Just wanted to make sure you know…

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Birthday Mom!

  1. mandy says:

    Your plumbing story was MUCH scarier than any of the music lyrics you posted 🙂 Also scary…how much dad looks like Frank in old pictures! Wow!

  2. mom says:

    Thank you, son. I had a much better week. First I babysat two darling little kids who love me to death!!, then, I bought a house in Florida. Then,I find out my refg. is broken in Zanesville, so as soon as I got home, I had to buy a new one. Ricky and Christopher (son-in-law, not grandson) are going to install it tomorrow. We voted before we left for Fla., and I campaigned the whole way down and back. He should put me on his payroll. lol (figured out that meant laugh out loud, which I do frequently, especially while reading this blog!!) So, you aren’t Joe the Plumber, or even Alan the cook, but you are so good in so many things, and because of you I have an enlarged heart!!! Of course the other 5 helped to make me big-hearted!! Love……. o

  3. RUTH ANN says:

    Dont feel bad, I didnt call till the next day either.
    I just love that pic of mom and dad, they both look so great there, no wonder they fell in love with each other!!!

  4. Amber says:

    I called, she would have freaked if I hadn’t! (It was my first O.B. visit for the baby.) Love you!!!

  5. Danielle-lee says:

    Look at your mom’s gorgeous blue eyes!! Is that you, the wee little baby?

    so you’ve had those huge-ass industrial fans in your house too? OMG, they are like the windy-fucking-city, excuse my language.

    what is it with water leaks??

    That’s me…and water leaks SUCK!

Leave a Reply

