Hello 40!


tower-bridge-1
Look familiar?

Another year come and gone. Why is it that when you’re young, the clock stands still. But when you get old enough to appreciate all of the things that life can offer, the sand pours through the hourglass faster than water through a sieve? I don’t like it. I want time to stand still a little bit. Maybe not forever, but just long enough to let me savor some of the special moments. This past year, there were many moments that I would say were very memorable. And here are a few…

This past year, at the age of 39…

I went to London with my wife.

I took the family to the Outer Banks of North Carolina.

I saw the first minority candidate elected President.

I saw my son turn 6 and my daughter turn 4. Both great ages!

I got to take my son to his first day of 1st grade.

I saw Wicked. And Billy Elliot.

I saw Van Halen perform live.

I also saw The Police perform live.

And The Hold Steady. And The National.

And Kid Rock with Rev. Run!

I took up spinning.

I lost 11 pounds. Aaaand then gained 3 of them back.

We had our bathroom redone in our house.

I was in Phoenix for possibly the greatest Super Bowl ever.

I watched Tiger Woods putt around at Augusta.

I celebrated my 40th birthday almost 6 months early with my family and my best friends.

I received 3 epidurals for my back pain (not a highlight…but memorable!).

I lost one of my dearest pets (KC) to old age and a thyroid problem.

I watched a baseball game at Turner Field in Atlanta. And an NBA game in Denver.

I attended the Minneapolis State Fair.

And if all this wasn’t enough…I managed to visit over 30 different cities at any given time this year.

My 39th year was a busy one. And it was a lot of fun. Here’s to my 40th year of existence! May it be as exciting and fulfilling as this past year. But wouldn’t it be nice if the hands would stop ticking for just a little while?

This entry was posted in A Look Back, My Life, Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hello 40!

  1. Happy Birthday! 39 sounds like it was a great year. Hope 40 is even better!

    Yup…me too!

  2. Blah la Blah says:

    Happy Birthday! I hope 40 treats you as well as 39!

    It better! My bones are now more brittle! LOL

  3. Amber says:

    Happy 40th from your lil sis still in her 20’s! Love you! 🙂

    Oh that’s it! Rub it in! Thanks Amber. Love you too!

  4. Happy Birthday, Alan. Hope you have another 40 great years….plus.

    btw, if you figure out how to slow down time, please let me know.

    Thanks. Working on it…

  5. heather says:

    Happy Day! Hope it’s a good day, and another great year. My list would not be so full of the good stuff, you’re very blessed.

    I definitely feel blessed! It’s a good feeling. Thank you! And hopefully YOUR birthday will bring you a year of “the good stuff”!

  6. Kim aka Betty says:

    Happy Birthday Al! I know you have already celebrated, but I do hope you have a fantastic day today.

    Here’s to another 40 to one of my favorite people on the planet!

    Oh…I think there will be much celebration going on today. You should see the cake my kids decorated for me! It’s COVERED in frosting and colorful gels. Should be LOADED with sugar!

  7. mandy says:

    Happy birthday Alan!

  8. Danielle-lee says:

    Happy birthday Alan!
    I would LOVE for the clock to slow down!! When you figure it out, let me know!

  9. Tammy says:

    What an action packed year!! Glad you’re enjoying it and blogging it – I’ve heard of people who download their blogs onto their hard drives to save them as digital diaries for their kids, etc.

    That’s a good idea!

Leave a Reply

