Christmas In Seattle


the-virgins-2008-001

For anyone who travels, there is security in knowing certain cities. For example, I know when I go to Denver, I can find good restaurants and a Virgin Megastore on 16th Street. When I go to San Diego I know I will be eating lunch at In N Out Burger. When I go to Tennessee, I can go to Jack’s BBQ. So it is a rare city where I don’t know what I will be doing once I arrive. Seattle is that rare city.

seattle_2008-011

So for this visit to Seattle, I am here during one of the worst snowstorms that the city has seen since 1996. Snow by the buckets is falling from the sky! Flights are canceled, cars are swerving off the road, dogs and cats are living together and the white death has arrived! Since the snow is falling at an alarming rate, you would think the smart thing to do would be to stay in my hotel room and wait out the storm…right? But why in the world would I come all the way across the country, work all day and then sit in my room while I’m in my favorite city in the United States? Screw that! I’ve done my research and here’s the deal…”The Virgins” are in town and are playing at a little bar called “Chop Suey”. So I have dinner with 2 good friends at a restaurant at Pike Market and then set out alone (no one wants to trek across town through this weather) to see one of my favorite bands of 2008.

the-virgins-2008-028

First off, this is some crazy weather. Secondly, Chop Suey is clear on the other side of town! So I have some walking to do…and oddly enough, I don’t mind. It’s a beautiful night with the snow falling all over the city. Christmas lights in the trees light my way and there is very little traffic. Walking up Pike St. from the market to East Madison & 14th takes me about 35 minutes. It’s really not that cold and not a hard walk. Eventually I find Chop Suey and pay my $12 cover (considering AC/DC was asking over $500 in Houston…I’ll take $12 ANY time!).

the-virgins-2008-020

A band called “Hockey” opened for “The Virgins” and I pretty much missed most of their set. They are a very young band and I overheard someone say they’ve been signed to Arista Records. I’ll have to look into that, but for now I can say the 2 songs I heard were pretty good! I had a couple of beers as they wrapped up and tore down their equipment. There weren’t that many people in attendance, seeing as how driving was so hazardous, but The Virgins hit the stage and performed all of the songs from their album and wrapped with a sweet version of Aerosmith’s “Sweet Emotion”. Nice! Apparently this is the last stop on their 2008 tour, but if you get a chance, you should check them out. They’re a young band (hence the name), but they sound like a modern version of “The Cars” (without the keyboards) and lead singer Erik Ratensperger is long and lanky and kinda reminds me of Steven Tyler or Mick Jagger. Maybe not as much charisma, but still he has a certain stage presence and seems very comfortable. So the set was tight, the acoustics were great and everybody had a good time! Word to Chop Suey management…LOVE the disco ball!

the-virgins-2008-034

So I begin the long trek back to the hotel and make a quick stop in IHOP for a cup of coffee (in Seattle??? Blasphemous!). On the way back, I ran into a group of people sledding down to Pike Street. Seriously…people sledding down a city street and having a blast! Awesome…

seattle_2008-002
The ORIGINAL Starbucks!

Anyway…another great night in Seattle. And more great memories. Now…I just hope I get home before Chrtistmas! Because the sky is falling and according to the news, it’s not gonna stop until Monday. CRAP! I guess if I’m gonna be stranded, there are worst places to be!

seattle_2008-012

This entry was posted in My Life, Places and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Christmas In Seattle

  1. Tessa says:

    There really is something magical about walking around a city locked down by snow. I’ve done it in Toronto, when I lived there, and it was quite the experience to see everyone jolted out of their usual routine. Kudos to you for getting out in Seattle to experience the night, rather than staying snug and cozy in your hotel.

  2. Mom says:

    It was 75 here today and I DON’T MISS THE SNOW!!! The kids miss us, but I told them to get used to it. Fifteen more years of this and I might stop coming down here. Glad you enjoyed yourself, son. I used to be that young once!!! Dad and I would walk down main street in Columbus, and Rosary Church was lighted from inside and the stained glass was beautiful. We would catch snowflakes in our mouths. That was when the air was clean. They used to say don’t eat yellow snow. I didn’t know what that meant ’til I saw what a dog was doing to the beautiful white stuff. Many, many years ago!! Thanks for the memories!! Love………

  3. Good luck getting home. It was 70 at my house today. The snow on the mountain behind my house is all gone! Oh well – it looked pretty for a day while it was there.

  4. kmcdade says:

    Oh, no! I’d invite you down to Portland, but you’d never make it. 🙂 You might check out capitolhillseattle.com for Seattle info while you’re there – I know the guy who runs it.

  5. Mr F says:

    There is no grass on my side of the fence.

  6. what great pictures! Its gone from 70 to 17 in my neck of the woods…

  7. ashley says:

    Glad you had a good time. You were in my old stomping grounds. *ahem* Oh, the trouble I got into.

  8. Amber says:

    Chris loves In and Out Burger, he wants to know if you have ever eaten at Del Taco? Beautiful pics, Alan. Hope you make it home for Christmas. Be safe!

  9. Tammy says:

    I haven’t been to Seattle – but it does look especially lovely with all of the snow! Hope you make it home for Christmas!!

  10. That snow storm stranded receptionist & her boyfriend today. Enjoy Seattle! It’s gaw-juss in the Puget Sound area.

  11. Chris says:

    Glad you had a good time in Seattle! Yes, the snow threw us for a loop but it was beautiful and much enjoyed by kids and adults alike. Thanks for coming by over at 3giraffes- come back and visit again!

Leave a Reply

