Top 10 Movies Of 2008



You love me?!? You really love me?!?

I love movies. Really, ever since I was young, going to the theatre has been a way for me to unwind and escape from reality. Of course, the reality of it is this…some movies are very, very good…and some are crap. This year, there were plenty of good films and a couple that are great! When 2 of this year’s movies make my Top 50 Favorites list…that’s a good year! So without further ado…here are my Top 10 Favorite Movies of 2008! (Highlighted films are reviews from my movie blog site, “Popcorn & A Soda“!)

10. Slumdog Millionaire
High on everyone’s Top 10 lists this year, I finally caught it in January of 2009. It is definitely a great film! And director Danny Boyle does a great job capturing the heart & soul of a movie that follows the life of a small boy who grows up to win millions of dollars on a game show and the heart of the woman he loves.

9. Tropic Thunder
Comedy highjinx at it’s best! 3 great entertainers playing entertainers making a movie about Vietnam. Sound like a recipe for comedy? Nope. But these guys pull it off and Robert Downey, Jr. is at his best. And he gets the line of the year…”You NEVER go full retard!” LOL

8. Iron Man
And Robert Downey makes it 2 in a row! Although setting the stage slows it down a bit, this movie has a ton of potential and entertainment value through the roof! Gwyneth Paltrow is surprisingly good and only a drab turn by Jeff Bridges as the bad guy drags this one down a tad.

7. Wall-E
Once again Pixar clears a path for more great filmmaking with a trash compactor with heart and a barren earth. More visual marvel than great story, this film showcases incredible state-of-the-art computer graphics with a story about love and ecological disaster. Oddly enough…it works wonderfully!

6. Burn After Reading
I would love to tell you what this movie is about, but truthfully…I have no idea. And that is exactly what the Coen brothers wanted. It’s part espionage, part paranoid thriller. And it means absolutely nothing. But it’s entertaining nothingness!

5. Forgetting Sarah Marshall
Another comedy from the guy behind “Superbad” and “40 Year Old Virgin”, but this time, he simply produces. Judd Apatow spearheads this summer romp and lets his cast do its thing. The highlight? Russell Brand as a cocky, ballad singing Brit who steals the spotlight and the girl. But it’s Jason Segel who carries this movie over the finish line as the man who can’t forget Sarah Marshall.

4. The Visitor
This little independent will probably get critical accolades, and it should! Richard Jenkins stars as a downtrodden college professor who goes back to New York, only to find visitors living in his home. Eventually a friendship is formed and the professors life is changed forever. A very well-written and heartfelt film.

3. Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist
Boy meets girl. Girl and boy fight. Boy and girl like the same music. Boy and girl travel all over NY City looking for a band…and along the way they fall in love. A modern day teenage “When Harry Met Sally”…and it works! Best romantic comedy of the year…and the grossest scene I’ve seen in any movie in the last decade.

2. Cloverfield
With all the internet buildup, it was inevitable that this amusement park ride of a film would suffer some backlash. For an entire year, everyone wanted to know what the hell threw the head of the Statue of Liberty down a New York City street. So when the movie was released, you either got into it…or it made you sick (right Frank?). I LOVED it! I haven’t had this much fun at the movies in years! But take your dramamine, ’cause it’s a bumpy ride!

1. The Dark Knight
There is nothing I can say that hasn’t been said already. Heath Ledger is the most memorable villain in years and the editing and pacing was perfect. A visual masterpiece!

OTHER FILMS OF NOTE:

The Only Film I Walked Out Of This Year: X-Files: I Want To Believe

Most Disappointing Film: Indiana Jone & The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skulls

Worst Film of 2008: The Happening

Movies That I Haven’t Seen Yet That Would Probably Make This List: Frost/Nixon, Gran Torino, Slumdog Millionaire


Wait a minute…what does he mean we are the “WORST” movie of 2008???

This entry was posted in Top 10 Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Top 10 Movies Of 2008

  1. Tammy says:

    The only one I’ve seen on this list is Forgetting Sarah Marshall which was freakin’ hilarious!!! Russell Brand stole the show.

    I don’t do movie theaters much – prefer the DVD releases. I have a whole lotta DVD watchin’ to do. Now I’m home alone for a few days and have a line up to watch. Starting with the John Adams HBO miniseries – all in one sitting… woohoo!

  2. Tessa says:

    This was a bad year for me, as I only got to see four movies in the theatre. On the bright side, three of them were brilliant – Slumdog Millionaire, Wall-E, In Bruges in that order. The fourth movie was Quantum of Solace – crap title, even crappier film.

    I watched two of your top ten on Pay Per View – The Dark Knight and Forgetting Sarah Marshall – and enjoyed them thoroughly.

    All the best in the New Year, Alan!

  3. heather says:

    I didn’t care for the XFile movie either. It was like, uh, who’s this? Oh yeah, that’s right…I forgot about tv in the 90’s. WTF?

  4. mandy says:

    I’ve seen six of them! I’d agree with most of what you’ve said, though I’d move Sarah behind the superhero flicks. That was probably my fave Apatow film, but I still don’t think they’re THAT funny.
    Haven’t seen Burn After Reading yet. Frank told me it wasn’t worth the price of a dvd rental…now who am I supposed to believe?

    Ummm…me? If you liked Fargo, you’ll like Burn.

  5. Stephanie says:

    Cloverfield was HORRIBLE. I realize that they had to go save their friend from whatever she needed help with. I have honestly forgotten.

    But, climbing ON TOP OF skyscrapers just to get this one girl when there’s these creepy things crawling around the city? No thank you.

    Perhaps I just like my movies to have more reality, though.

    Was NOT! It was COOL! Reality is waaaaay overrated…

Leave a Reply

