2009 New Year Resolution


Every year at this time, thousands of people make one simple decision for the year. Something that they think will make their year better or something that will make them better. I have done the same for many years. Usually it involves something healthy. Eat healthy. Working out more. Climb a mountain. Whatever. Or sometimes it involves getting rid of a bad habit. For many years of my life, my New Years resolution has been to stop biting my fingernails. To this day, I have yet to stop this nasty little habit, no matter how hard I try. I’ve tried just about everything shy of wearing gloves! So my nails still look all bitten and snarly.

I don’t like New Years resolutions because, truth of the matter is, I never keep them. Oh sure, I might make it through a couple of weeks, but then inevitably I’m right back where I started eating french fries and drinking Coke and smoking 8 packs a day (wait a minute…I don’t smoke. That must be my brother…) and skipping trips to the gym and working just as much as I did last year. It’s a never-ending cycle that I just can’t seem to get away from…the broken New Years resolution. Not once, in my 40 years of existence, have I ever followed through with it. Not once.

How sorry is that? You would think, as a grown adult, I could come up with SOMETHING that I could do for a whole 365 days! I mean…how much comittment does it really take? So this year, I am making my New Years resolution and it involves exactly what I am doing right now. So here it is…my 2009 New Years Resolution…

*drumroll here*

In 2009…I declare that I will NOT blog more than TWICE a day!!!!!

That’s 2 times. That’s it. Not 3 or 4 or even 5. TWO. That’s all ya get. In a day. Because, quite frankly, I’m overdoing it on ye old computer here and the letters on the keys are starting to fade. That should tell me that maybe I’m doing this a little too often…right?

Of course, I’ve been down this road before. I’ve tried to NOT write and failed miserably. I think once, after posting 7 stories, I started whining about no one stopping by to read and I started feeling frustrated by my inability to come up with interesting things to write about. Maybe because I burned out a little? Dunno why THAT didn’t occur to me…

So I am taking a page from my friend “Twenty-Four At Heart“. With her, you know you are gonna get a single blog every day. I always go and read her every morning. It’s now like reading the paper to me (which I still do, by the way). I don’t think I’ll be doing the “every morning” thing…that might take TOO much committment. However I think it’s high time I cut back just a smidge.

So 2 stories a day Friends & Family! That’s all your getting! And I haven’t decided yet if that includes a “Picture Of The Day” or if that will be the only exclusion. I can’t quite decide. I’ll get back to ya on that one. Maybe tomorrow? Because I got bigger plans for Blog #2 today…sorry.

Of course, knowing how long I keep my resolutions, I might be willing to discuss it tonight…in Blog #4…

This entry was posted in Blog On Blogs, My Life, Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2009 New Year Resolution

  1. Thank you for the linky love!! Happy 2009 to you!
    I post once a day 5x/week usually … holidays sometimes less. I do that because I barely have time to even keep up w/that. Also, I think it keeps me from burning out. Although I’ve kind of had holiday burn out anyway.

    I’m trying not to eat beginning today. I’ve been awake for an hour and I’m hungry. That does not bode well.

  2. You’re not the only one that can’t (or won’t) keep those resolutions. I have never kept one either. Been trying for years and years to stop picking at my cuticles!!

  3. Mom says:

    I decided when I retired to make my resolve to do nothing. To this date I have kept my resolution!!! Good luck to me and dad! Hope we can keep this idle life going strong. Happy New Year to you and all your blogger friends! Love…..mom

    You have high aspirations Mom! And I love that in you! 🙂

  4. Chris says:

    You should do Blog 365- sounds like you would be perfect for that project. Me? I had a hard time getting through NaBloPoMo which only required 30 posts in 30 days.

    Last year I posted over 500 blogs…so I got that beat by a bunch!

  5. mop master says:

    Good resolution and hopefully one you’ll be able to stick to. But if you fall off the wagon and post more than 2 blogs a day I’ll bet you don’t get any complaints. 🙂

    Actually, I doubt anybody will even notice…

  6. Amber says:

    I won’t complain, I love to read your blog (if you blog more than twice). My resolution is secret from Chris. I am going to try to be less demanding of him and less crabby to him. Pretty hard being as I am pregnant, but he’s very special and doesn’t deserve all the crap I tend to give him. You know I have not cooked one meal, swept one floor, washed one dish, or done any laundry since I’ve been pregnant. Mom told him to take care of me and he took that to heart!

    You better be nice to him…he’s a great guy! Too bad your child is from immaculate conception…

  7. Happy New Year Alan !!! I am going to try to cut down
    on soda. And I’m pretty sure sometime in March I will
    be reading your third blog of the day holding a big can
    of Mountain Dew. LOL !!! 🙂

    It might be sooner than March! I’m already wanting to post 4 blogs I’ve written! Gah!

  8. Tammy says:

    Now that you mention it – you do blog alot. You definitely don’t suffer from blog clog. Hee. I just made that up. Even though I don’t get to you every day, if it’s been a while – I know I have a good 30 minutes to an hour of interesting reading to catch up on. I actually do read all of your posts, I’m just a lazy commenter sometimes. 🙂

    Well…at least you seem to enjoy all of my mind dumps! Thanks for being such a good friend and keeping me in business! And you got yourself a great blog also! 🙂

Leave a Reply

