Attention Span Of A…What Was I Saying?


technical_difficulties

Here’s something you might not know about me…I have no attention span. I can’t seem to focus on much of anything these days. For example…I have insurance paperwork sitting right next to me that I should be filling out (AGAIN…for the 4th time in 2 months. So…over…it already…), but I’m not going to. I chalk it up to having kids…but now I am wondering if it is a genetic thing. For example…both of my children. Seriously…neither of them can concentrate for more than 5 minutes.

Today, my lovely wife informs me that she thinks our daughter has been watching too much television and then she disappears to work in the basement, leaving me to fend for myself with Ava. Ava wants to paint. I do NOT want Ava to paint because I just got her dressed in her cute outfit. So I allow her to play in her “moon sand”. This stuff is just as messy as paint, however it won’t get all over Ava’s clothes, so I figure I will have one less messy thing to clean up after she is done. 5 minutes after getting this stuff out…she’s done. Now I get to spend 15 minutes cleaning this crap up! Glad I didn’t get out the paints!

Christopher is the same way. He wants to play football, however after 3 or 4 tosses of the ball, he wants to start reinacting Super Bowl X with all the sound effects of Star Wars! He starts tumbling on the ground as if he’s being tackled (Whack!) and running into the “end zone” (Hrumph!). So I’m standing there, in the cold, watching this. I start thinking about insurance forms and then I’m done.

Is attention span genetic? Or is it something that, as we get sucked into the swirl of computers and media and constant barragement of  images and input that our minds just slowly erode into mush and we are left wandering aimlessly from task to task, website to website, with no focus or concentration at all?

It’s an interesting thought…and one that I have now lost interest in. Oh…gotta go play with Ava. She has her doctor gear out and is demanding that she operates on my leg. Apparently it won’t hurt. Maybe a lobotomy is next in order? I think so…

This entry was posted in Family Life, Kids, My Life, Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Attention Span Of A…What Was I Saying?

  1. kmcdade says:

    Oh, it’s perfectly normal for kids to have a short attention span. I don’t know about you. 🙂 Or me. It IS almost impossible to get anything done with kids around, unless you have someone else on hand to manage them. I’m sure that’s why your wife is in the basement. Best of luck!

  2. heather says:

    I think some of it is genetic, but I do believe a lot of it is that children ARE overburdened by too much stimulation. I always read for hours, or played with the same toy for hours. But I had very few to play with, and very little opportunity to watch television.

Leave a Reply

