My Radio Interview


 

A long time ago, I had a dream. It wasn’t a big dream. But it was MY dream. I wanted to be a radio DJ. So I went to college to study how to be a radio DJ. Seriously.

Stop laughing…

SHUT UP ALREADY! Anaaaanyway…here is what I learned after 4 years at Ohio University…working in radio SUCKS. Zero money. No chance of moving up. UNLESS…you got a great voice and a flair for the business. I didn’t have either.

So I got into television. And that has worked out pretty well. But earlier today I made my return to radio on FM94/9, an alternative rock station out in San Diego. How did that happen? Well…because I am a very important person…that’s how.

Ooooor…because my college buddy who works there is the morning drive guy. Tommy DOES have a flair for radio and is one of the most knowledgable on-air guys in the country. And I happen to be at the largest sporting event in the country. Oh…and Tommy is originally from Pittsburgh. So…I had a lot going for me. Anyway, he called me and set up an interview and it went something like this…

“Blah, blah, blah. Steelers. Blah, blah, blah. Cardinals. Bengals suck. Deion Sanders is cool. Blah blah blah.”

Of course, it was a little more in-depth than that. We also talked about toilet sounds on tv and the stress level of my job. But you get the general idea. You want to listen to what I sound like on da radio? Well…ya missed it! But if you like alternative rock,  go and listen to my man Tommy. He’s a great personality and always has been. A true pro in every sense of the word. Even if he is from Pittsburgh (just kiddin’)!

So check out Hansen & Tommy in the Morning! And as it turns out…things haven’t changed much. I’m STILL not making any money working on the radio…LOL

This entry was posted in My Life, Sports Talk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Radio Interview

  1. i have a bro in law in the radio biz…but his voice is awesome!

  2. Mom says:

    I remember when you were on radio and you and a partner were discussing Christmas gifts. Shall I tell your blogging world about THAT experience!!! HAHAHAHA…….Love, mom

    SURE! Send me an email with whatever it was we were talking about and I’ll use it as a blog! Because I honestly have no idea what you are talking about…

  3. I always liked Wolfman Jack. Do
    you remember Wolfman Jack ?

    Of course! “American Grafitti”!!! I never actually heard Jack on the air…but his work was well-known world-wide!

  4. I love FM949!

    I kinda figured you would!

Leave a Reply

