The School Line Tells All


Don’t know about your school, but at my son’s school, we have to wait in a line to drop off the kids. And it is in this line that many stories are told! We live in a community that is somewhat divided. There are the very rich, and there are the middle class (like us). And there is very little in-between. Most of the homes on my street are modestly priced. One street over? Possibly a million bucks. So you get the dicotomy.

Anyway, it has come to my attention recently, as the days have been cold and people have been late getting their kids to the drop-off line, who in our little community here thinks they have prority and who get the special “you’re rich so you can do whatever you want” ticket. And I’m not happy about it. Because if you are LATE taking your kid to school, your butt is at the back of the line. But it never fails to amaze me the amount of line-cutting and honking and blocking of intersections that goes on at this school.

You know, it says a lot about the state of our country watching others drive. It says something when people won’t let someone in who has their turn signal on and is obviously trying to get into the other lane. Or when someone inches out into an intersection and doesn’t turn when the light turns red, leaving everyone who is turning to try to avoid them and their big ass SVU which is essentially PARKED in the middle of the road. C’mon people! It’s time to wake up!

Are we just becoming rude zombies, oblivious to others as we drive? Do we feel we have a sense of priority over everyone else? Does the size or make of your car make you better than others? I don’t have all the answers, but I can tell you this…as angry as I can be when I drive (mostly due to situations such as these), if someone turns on their signal, even if it’s a semi and I’m doing 75, I let them over. They were nice enough to let me know what they need to do, the least I can be is courteous enough to stay out of the way. I’m gonna get there soon enough…right?

So let’s make smart decisions out there people. And as Abraham Lincoln stated at the end of “Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure”…

“Be excellent to each other. And… PARTY ON, DUDES!”

This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The School Line Tells All

  1. heather says:

    I think your zombie theory applies to everything, not just in driving situations.

    Btw, yeah, Hollywood week was really annoying. That dark haired chick drove me crazy. I think her name is Tatiana? I might just not watch the show if she makes it. She’s sickening.

  2. mandy says:

    How about when you are sitting at a stop sign in the right turn lane, and the tiny lady in the mammoth SUV in the left turn lane decides she needs scoot her H-2 so far forward that she COMPLETELY blocks your view of the oncoming traffic so that YOU don’t get to turn right until after SHE gets to turn left. ACK!!!!! C’mon lady! You can obviously see over top of my little Subaru, why the heck do you have to pull up so frickin far????

  3. mandy says:

    Sorry, I just really hate that.

  4. Amber says:

    I think you are one of the few remaining humans left in the city, Alan. Oh well, guess you’ll just have to come homefor a break…wink wink. Sorry, just missing you:)

Leave a Reply

