Shopping At Wal-Mart (aka I Hate My Life)


Look…I realize that there are gonna be times when I just have to bite the bullet and go to Wal-Mart…also known as the most reviled shopping store in the world. I have my own reasons for hating Wal-Mart. Most people either love it or hate it. I would take Target over Wal-Mart any day of the week. Is Wal-Mart cheaper? Probably. Is it closer to my home? Yes. Is there more to choose from? I guess.

So why would I rather drive farther to pay more for less selection of stuff?

Because…Wal-Mart is a freakin’ freak-a-thon, that’s why.

I hate passing judgment on people that I don’t know. Wait…let me rephrase that…

I don’t mind passing judgement on people I don’t know when they are dressed in sleeveless shirts with dragons down one arm and a naked lady on the other and they have on a Budweiser hat and have only 4 teeth (I think…couldn’t get close enough) and the guy next to her keeps calling her “Roxy”. But the OTHER people who are at Wal-Mart are just…well…angry, bitter and smell funny.

Am I wrong? What is it with that place? The people are just scary. And it doesn’t seem to matter where I go, there is always someone in my way. They need GPS systems for their carts there or something because I could literally be all by myself in the CD section and then, out of no where, I’m blocked in on all sides and I have to wait while Ma & Pa Jones decide which Willie Nelson Live CD is different from the other. Just so they know…THEY ARE ALL THE SAME!

So today I needed birthday gifts for a 6 & 7-year old. 2 kids that I don’t even know! And I am left with the responsibility of shopping with MY 2 children (who I know very well and I KNOW all they care about is what I can get THEM!) and finding gifts for these 2 kids who I have met maybe twice? Or in the case of the 6-year old…never!?

Yeah…I hate my life right now. AND I HATE Wal-Mart!

So, you might be asking yourself, how did I end up there? Why not Target? Good question, dear reader.

No choice. The toy store down the road is closing (which I didn’t know) and I had no time to make a run to Le Target. Had to do some down & dirty shopping and get er done. So mission accomplished! But not without a headache and some swear words being uttered under my breath…

Have I mentioned that I hate Wal-Mart? Oh…I have? Okay then…

This entry was posted in My Life, Uh...Dunno. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shopping At Wal-Mart (aka I Hate My Life)

  1. You are not alone. I hate Wal-Mart with a passion and will avoid it at all costs. Last week on my grocery list was nothing but Wal-Mart items. So I broke down and went. Just pulling in the parking lot pisses me off!!

    And I don’t care which part of the country I am in – every Wal-Mart has the same batch of customers and the same terrible management!!

    I went to one in FL somewhere and the checker had holes in her shirt which was short enough to allow her gut to hang out. She had 1 tooth left in the front. And her hair looked like it had not been washed in a week.

    Oh, dear God, why did you get me started?!?

  2. Chris says:

    I have to say- there are about 4 Targets in our vicinity and only one Wal-Mart (not even in Seattle). All 4 Targets are closer than Wal-Mart and thank God for that. I hate Wal-Mart (shoppers) with a passion as well. You’ve captured them perfectly.

    And, dude, the birthday gift buying for kids you don’t know? I feel your pain.

  3. Amber says:

    I hate Walmart, too. I am known for doing anything possible to avoid Walmart, that includes driving to Columbus to go to Target. Yeah for me though, they just opened one in Pickerington which is like 20 min closer:)

  4. the1and2and3 says:

    I hate walmart too! But sometimes I just have too go!(sigh)
    Oh well! I hope your life brightens up!

  5. Yup, Wal-Mart is a greed driven, bloodsucker that kills employee relationships, values and ethics, not mention every other surrounding small business. I do not shop there any more, though I have no problem admitting I did, while I was ignorant of their modus operendi. A very informative documentary that I watched last year was : Wal-Mart: The High Cost of Low Price – a must see for documentary types (like myself)

    🙂

    Boo Wal-Mart!

  6. heather says:

    6 and 7 isn’t too young to learn the value of gift cards! woo hoo!

  7. The Wall-Mart that sued the permanently brain-damaged ex-employee for the money she had won in her car accident settlement so that they could recoup their medical expense? The settlement her family was going to use for her care in a nursing home. That Wall-Mart? Shame on you dude!

    Who still goes shopping anyway? I thought everybody shopped online now. You’re so retro!

Leave a Reply

