The View Ain’t So Bad


 april-2009-123

Standing in my kitchen, looking out at my backyard. Two children are playing, not aware that I am watching. It’s a beautiful morning. The sun is shining. The birds are in the trees. Bees are buzzing frantically.

I see her hair bounce as she runs across the lawn. I watch him climb the fence; careful not to fall, little man!  They are smiling, laughing, carrying on. It’s what kids do.

It makes me think about my childhood and the adventures I used to have on Saturday mornings. No school. No worries. Just me and my imagination. My imagination isn’t what it used to be, but it’s still there in the back of my mind. Occasionally it likes to come out and play. But it usually takes a little prodding, a little push. And then I’ll take the leap.

Things aren’t easy anymore. Life isn’t without worries or concerns. But what I am watching now is really all that I can ask for. The smiling, laughing and carrying on is what keeps my life in check. It’s what I am here for. And that is awesome.

So I sit at the kitchen table, read my paper, sip my coffee and realize that the view here ain’t so bad. As a matter of fact…it’s the most beautiful view I will ever have.

This entry was posted in A Look Back, Family Life, Kids, My Life, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The View Ain’t So Bad

  1. Amber says:

    Beautiful, Alan. I wish more people had to abililty to understand what is truly precious in life as you do. Can’t wait to see you Monday! Love always.

Leave a Reply

