My New York Trip…He Said


So Nathalie gave HER version of what happened. So now here is MY version of what REALLY went down. And trust me…it is nowhere near as interesting as what she thinks!

 xxxxxx-050

So I arrived in New York on Wednesday. Kinda overcast and crappy and headed STRAIGHT TO WORK. I didn’t get out til 6pm and from there I went straight out to Times Square to see the lights. Much to my disappointment, the Virgin Megastore has now closed, so I decided to see a Broadway show.

xxxxxx-035

This year, I went to see “Desire Under The Elms” with Carla Gugino & Brian Dennehy (which is a huge difference from last year when I went to see “Spamalot“!). For those of you who don’t know who either actor is, Brian Dennehy has been in film  & television for a while and Ms. Gugino is in “Watchmen”, “Sin City” and quite a few other great films. “Desire” is a serious drama written by Eugene O’Neill in the 1920’s and is about a man, his father, his father’s new wife and a farmhouse. Needless to say, it generates some heat! I couldn’t take a lot of pictures (ushers get real huffy about taking pictures. I have no idea why) but the performances were great and the set was very cool for a minimalistic drama.

xxxxxx-046 xxxxxx-045

From there is was back to my hotel (Le Parker Meriden) for a burger at The Burger Joint, which is tucked in a corner of the hotel lobby behind a giant curtain. I kid you not! Burgers are $7 and as messy as you like it! And they really go great at 11pm just before going to bed. (Not)

xxxxxx-030

On Thursday I hit the gym twice at the hotel. At $10 a day, I figured I might as well get my money out of it. Watched “Signs” and went to bed early.

xxxxxx-060
My room with a view

Friday? Went for a nice long walk AFTER WORK, bought me some deli takeout (Waldorf salad, Cannoli & orange drink!), kicked back and watched “Nick & Norah’s Infinit Playlist” which is set in New York. Called it a night and went to bed.

xxxxxx-072
Now THAT’S a New York dinner!

Saturday? I was working for 13 hours straight in a truck outside Radio City Music Hall. The NFL Network had a 5 hour “Pre-show” before selections took place beginning at 4pm. I got done around 11pm once the first 2 rounds were done. Needless to say, I went straight to bed because…

xxxxxx-054
My place in the truck with a view

Sunday we were back in at work at 7am and didn’t get off the air until 8:30pm. Good times. However after I was done, I went back out to another deli and got a panini, canolli and a tea.

xxxxxx-070
The OTHER deli

Next morning, up at 5:30 to catch an 8am flight back to Cincinnati so I could get to work down at Great American Ball Park to see the Reds lost to the Astros.

img_3208
The Draft Crew (can you find me? Left side, back row)

xxxxxx-075

xxxxxx-084
Live…from New York!

So as you can see….I was NOT just goofing around in New York City, Nathalie! I was working my butt off! Oh sure…I was able to Facebook & Twitter throughout the day, but it is EXHAUSTING work bringing all the NFL fans their coverage of such an exciting event such as the NFL Draft! So there!  😛

xxxxxx-093
I don’t need Photoshop to show you where I go…’cause I got REAL pictures H!

This entry was posted in My Life, Places and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My New York Trip…He Said

  1. Amber says:

    I saw you immediately. Hope you had some fun, you really do work too much. Can’t wait to see you. If no one told you I am on leave now so if you come home ANY DAY you will see me:) Love you!

  2. kat says:

    trust me, you can’t miss her. 🙂

  3. mom says:

    I saw you right away. Best looking one there!! Shame on you Katheryn!!! She looks beautiful, Alan. We had a great time at her first shower, and Kasey got a lot of money for her confirmation. Dad watched the Buckeyes get picked, then he turned you off. Sorry…… Love, Mom

  4. RUTH ANN says:

    I found you right away also!! Amber is huge, but what do you expect she is prego, she still looks pretty!!!!

  5. Amber says:

    Thank you every one for the…ummm…. compliments!?! Alan, you will just have to come home and see for yourself. Oh, and that was my second baby shower, I’m having three:)

Leave a Reply

