And Now Let Summer Begin…


So much work, so little time. I realize that I like my job. And every year at this time I say that NEXT year I’m gonna lay off a little bit. But you just can’t lay off if the money is there…right? I mean, I gotta make a living to support my wife, 2 kids, dog, 2 cats and the guys working on my house. So I’ve been working…a lot…and I’ve missed a lot at home.

I missed my daughter’s dance recital, almost all of my sons’ basketball games, my sons’ birthday (most of it anyways), my wife’s charity gala and numerous other family functions that I should have been around for. Will I be kicking myself in the head later for missing any of these things? I honestly don’t know. All I know is that I missed them…and I will never get the opportunity to be there for them again.

So…this is my dilemma. I work to make money so we can survive. The payoff is I miss a lot of great memories.

I love my life. But I don’t love the lifestyle.

Now it’s done for a couple of months. I get to stay at home, grill out in the backyard, mow the yard, throw a baseball with my son, teach my daughter how to ride a bike, spend some quality time with my wife. It has been a long winter and I am tired. Tired of being in planes and cars and trucks. Tired of running from location to location. Tired of being at the game without being in the game.

I have to be at work at 5am tomorrow morning. But after that day is done, I drive home, have 3 days off and I don’t hit the road again for a while. Hello summer! Nice to see you again! It will be nice to be home for a while…

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And Now Let Summer Begin…

  1. At least your work is seasonal. Briefcase is gone year round. Sucks.

  2. Blah la Blah says:

    Enjoy the summer! You and your family deserve it.

  3. mom says:

    Gosh, son. It’s not how MUCH time, it’s how you use it. I think, for a man, you do pretty good. Dad and I didn’t spend that much time with you kids, but what time we did, we made sure it was fun and memorable. If you don’t believe me, I will make a recording of you kids talking on Thanksgiving. What you kids talk about is just music to my and dad’s ears. Just memories. Good memories. Love..mom
    (and, yes, that is proper English. Break the sentence down, without hanging a participle and you get “my ears” and dad’s ears…just remove the conjunction)

  4. Kim aka Betty says:

    I hope you enjoy your three days off. You certainly deserve it and Steph and the kids do too! 🙂

  5. Amber says:

    I’m glad summer is finally here. I am sure Steph and the kids a re glad you will be home more, and you know the rest of us look forward to your summer visits, too. Love you!!!

  6. It sounds like a pretty good tradeoff. You get some special times other dads don’t get that work 9-5 all year round. But I know, in the middle of it, it’s hard to see the light! Hang in there.

    Thanks for the support Suz!

Leave a Reply

