Konversations With Kids: Mother’s Day


Purdue 001
Would YOU let this little girl buy you jewelry?

Mother’s Day is Sunday and I decided to take Ava out to get her mother a gift for that very special day. I kind of knew what I could get Steph so I figured I would “prod” Ava in that direction. After telling Ava that she needed to get her mother a gift, I went and started getting ready to go shopping. When I returned, Ava was wadding up something in a piece of paper. The conversation then went like so…

“Ava, you ready to go? Got your shoes on?”

“Where we goin’ Daddy?”

“I told you already…we’re going to go get your mom a Mother’s Day gift.”

“But I already got her one.” (wadding something up in a piece of paper)

“Um…what ya got there honey?”

“A gift for mommy. I’m a good wrapper, aren’t I daddy?”

“Yeah hon…that’s great. But we have to go shopping to get mommy something.”

“Okay…we can do that too, but I already got her something.” (still wadding)

“Hmmmm…and what is this gift that you got her already in the 5 minutes that I’ve been out of the room?”

“If I tell you, you can’t tell her, okay? It’s a secret.”

“Sure…no problem. I promise not to tell.”

“Promise?”

“Promise.”

“It’s a rock.” (now wrapping a little necklace around it)

“A rock? Like from outside?”

“Shhhh…don’t tell her! It’s a secret!”

“Oh…I promise I will NOT be telling your mother about that one! You go right ahead and give her that gift! I’m sure she will just LOVE it!”

I LOVE my daughter! And I can only hope that when Father’s Day rolls around, Steph doesn’t let her wrap MY gift…LOL

This entry was posted in Kids, Konversations With Kids and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Konversations With Kids: Mother’s Day

  1. Amber says:

    That is sooo sweet. I don’t think it was the type of rock Steph wanted, though. 😉

  2. kat says:

    lol! love that pic and perfect caption! She is so cute!

  3. mandy says:

    That is so cute! Ava is such a sweetie!

  4. Pingback: Ava Turns 5! « A Round World Through Square Glasses

Leave a Reply

