Walking The Halls


Today Christopher & I walked to his school. I actually enjoy walking with my son to school. Its a nice way to get in a little exercise to get my day started and we can get caught up on all things Christopher. Today he rambled on about his Pokemon cards and how many he has and how he has more than his buddies (he thinks) and how if he gets some more he can fill his new binder of cards (I think this was a hint…not sure) and how much fun it is to trade the cards and…then I kinda fell asleep a little bit.

Once we got to his school and I was completely updated on his Pokemon status for the day, I had to make a stop in the office to update Christopher’s lunch money fund. Apparently he ran out last week and I needed to write a check for X amount of dollars so that my son could have a nutritional lunch for the remaining days of the school year (which is now down to 15?!? Gah!). So I walked Christopher to his classroom then proceeded to the office to check in, because grown-ups wandering the hallways is apparently looked down upon at this school (which I totally agree with).

Anyway, I went to the office and was greeted by the secretary there. The funny thing is…I don’t visit Christopher’s  school very often. So when I do go, there is something in my brain that clicks and I revert back to when I was 7 and when visiting the office was not a good thing. As I am talking to this woman, I start feeling guilty…like I’m doing something bad? What is up with that? So I tell her my dilemma…that Christopher is out of lunch money and that I need to write a check to update his funds. She looks at me like I have 4 heads and then says, “You need to go to the cafeteria to do that.”

“Uuuum…okay. And which way would THAT be?” I ask.

“Go down the stairs, turn left at the end of the hallway. Take a right then a left. At the water cooler there are 2 double doors. Go through there and take a right. Once you get to the end of that hallway, take another left. There you’ll see the cafeteria on your left. Don’t go in there. Go to the end of the hallway to the kitchen and take a right. Go to the back of the kitchen and that is where Rita’s office is. You need to pay her.”

I stood there and stared at her with a blank stare.

“Just sign in and take a Visitor’s tag. When you are done, come back and sign out please.” And then she turned and started typing on her computer. Needless to say, I didn’t want to get detention, so I did what she told me. I signed in, took a green “Visitor” badge and stuck it on my sweatshirt and proceeded to walk. Walk where, I’m not sure…but I wasn’t gonna spend one more second in that office unless I had too.

So off I went in search of the cafeteria…or the woman who is in control of the cafeteria. Now…I don’t have a bad sense of direction, but this school has a lot of hallways that go left and right and straight and backwards. It’s all very disconcerting. And then I got lost. Well…not really lost, per se. But I kinda lost track of where I was for a bit. Which means, in essence, that I was lost.

So I wandered from place to place, looking for either a sign or a cafeteria which, you would think, would be easy to find. After about 10 hours (or 10 minutes….depending on who’s telling the story), someone stopped me and asked me if I needed help. I simply muttered “Cafeteria” and was quickly pointed in the correct direction. Come to find out, I was pretty close! It was only a right hand turn, a long corridor and a couple of double doors away! Once I made it to Rita’s office, I told her who my son was and handed her a check for X dollars. I then turned to leave and realized…I had to find my way BACK to the principal’s office to sign out.

Crap!

The End…or was it just…The Beginning?

This entry was posted in My Life, School Daze, Silly Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Walking The Halls

  1. Seriously? You got lost in an elementary school? Duuuuude!

  2. Amber says:

    Sounds like an adventure! That’s why I like St. Thomas, just up and down, one hallway per floor.

  3. mandy says:

    Yeah, St Tom is definitely the least confusing of any of the schools my kids have gone to. I remember the school in Dublin was laid out like a wheel with a media center in the middle. Confused the heck out of me everytime I went into that place!

Leave a Reply

