Guilty Pleasures: Barber Shop Shaving Cream


If there is anyplace more relaxing than the barber shop, then I haven’t found it. With the black & white tv with rabbit ears to the pictures of the barbers from back when they were in the military or out fishing with their family members, everything about a barber shop just reminds me of when I was young. There are a couple of reasons for this, but the one thing that REALLY reminds me of my youth has returned over the past year or so and that is the warm barber shop shaving cream.

In the early 90’s, most barber shops stopped using the warm, soapy cream because the barbers needed a straight edge razor to shave it off. Usually they would use it on my neck to shave off the little bit of hair that was growing. But when the AIDS scare hit and it was discovered that the disease could be spread by blood and razors, they stopped using it. Well…recently they have begun to use it again and I it is now one of my returned guilty pleasures!

It’s hard to explain, because it just seems so silly, but that warm feeling on my neck reminds me of  back in the day when I was 7 or 8. I would walk down to the barber shop on Main Street in McConnelsville and sit in line at the shop, reading comics and watching the time pass. Back in those days, I actually hated going to get my hair cut. I wanted to be out playing or riding my bike through town! I didn’t want to be sitting in a barber shop! Needless to say, once the whole experience was over, I would tear out of that chair and race to play. Now…it’s a totally different experience.

I like going to the barber shop. It relaxes me. And the smells and the sounds (usually a radio playing AM oldies) reminds me of when I was a boy and the world was waiting for me to come play. And the return of the shaving cream has made it even MORE relaxing! I know, I know….sounds kinda weird. But really…it’s almost like getting a massage for me. 15 minutes in the chair and all my tensions are gone. Don’t know why that is…but it just is.

So begins my latest category: Guilty Pleasures. My mind has been running out of ideas lately and this just sort of appeared while I was at the barbershop today. Hair dropping down my face. The Carpenters playing in the background. The door open, cool air drifting in. It’s one of my guilty pleasures. And today…it was just what I needed.

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guilty Pleasures: Barber Shop Shaving Cream

  1. Amber says:

    All woman will tell you that going to the salon relaxes them almost as much as a good massage. For us it is the wash. Nothing like getting your scalp scrubbed! Can’t wait to get a massage though. I am making an appoitment for immediately after the baby is born!

  2. ahh great idea…life is incomplete without at least a handful of guilty pleasures. If I steal this idea, dont be mad at me.

    I can only imagine what YOUR guilty pleasures are gonna be! Look forward to seeing that blog! LOL

Leave a Reply

