The Stare Down


June 2009 024
Pretend that IPod is me…

At Bob Evans for breakfast this morning (we don’t have a kitchen, remember?) and Ava is sitting across the table from me. She’s eating her fruit & yogurt. I’m eating my spinach omelet. She is looking at me. I am looking back. And before you know it…it’s…

A STARING CONTEST!!!

10 seconds: I think I can take her…

…but she is…very…resilient…

 

20 seconds: Damn if she isn’t good at this….

 

25 seconds: Did she blink? I think she did…but maybe not…?

 

30 seconds: Hmmm….I could swear…(I blink)

Without a pause she says, “I win.” And she continues eating. Subtle she is not. I am beaten and proceed to eat the rest of my breakfast with the bitter taste of defeat in my mouth.

Damn…she’s good…

This entry was posted in Family Life, Kids, My Life, Silly Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Stare Down

  1. mandy says:

    Ava plays to win! Woohoo!

  2. Alan, I think that’s the look Barb would give us if you told her a joke or comment on anything ‘current.’

    There’s a reason Gary has that 1000 yard stare!

    Out

  3. Ha ha….girls are just good! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Ava Turns 5! « A Round World Through Square Glasses

Leave a Reply

