Needs & Wants


June 2009 067

I have 2 kids. They are wonderful kids and are not really that difficult to live with. But as every parent knows, there are needs. And there are wants. And then there are MORE needs & wants. And before you know it…it’s 3pm, you’ve missed 2 appointments, skipped lunch and your head hurts.

I am a 40 year old man. I should be at my peak as far as my life focus is concerned. But as the needs & wants start to pile up, I find myself slipping into a fog of question marks and exclamation points. Let’s take today for example. Good start to my day. I’m up at 6:30. An hour before the contractors come in and continue destroying working on my house. 1 hour. I make coffee, get the paper, check my email. It’s quiet and I am organizing my day in my head.

At 7:05, my son appears.

“Can I watch tv? I am hungry. Can I eat? Can we go swimming today? I have to go to the bathroom, should I flush? What are we doing today? Can I buy some Pokemon cards today? When is Mom getting up?”

“Ummmmm…sure. Whatever buddy” is just about all I can come up with. And all the organized thoughts I just had are gone.

Then the workers show up. And then I am sharing my homespace with 2 other grown men who have invaded our home for the next month and are tearing it up all around us. Meanwhile, they are in the kitchen, which means we have no refridgerator. Which means I can’t get to the milk unless I go outside and around our house to come in the backdoor.

Then my wife wakes up.

“I have a headache. I am sooooo tired. Can you get me some coffee WITH CREAM? Don’t forget you are taking Christopher to his baseball camp at 9. And you have to take Ava. What time do you have to be at work today? What’s the matter? Are you irritable today?”

So I walk around, get the creamer, walk back around the house, and sit down. As I do this, my son proclaims…”Can I have some milk?”

Seriously?

And this is before my daughter gets up!!! And once SHE awakens, it gets even MORE convoluted because she loves to chatter incessently about…EVERYTHING.

Far be it for me to complain, but what about MY needs and wants? When does THAT become important. My head is so congested with questions and comments and clutter, it’s a wonder that I can think straight!

Somebody open the oven ’cause I am done.

It’s summer, my kids are home. I am home. My home is a mess. My wife has a busy schedule. I am essentially a stay at home dad, except when I’m working. And then I come home and start all over again.

A wise man once wrote a song. It’s about what I’m going through right now. I think you probably know it…

“I WANNA TALK ABOUT ME” by Toby Keith

I wanna talk about me
Wanna talk about I
Wanna talk about number one
Oh my me my
What I think, what I like, what I know, what I want, what I see
I like talking about you you you you, usually, but occasionally
I wanna talk about meeeeee
I wanna talk about me

Funny thing is…I don’t REALLY wanna talk about me. In all honesty, I just want some peace & quiet. That would be nice…

This entry was posted in Family Life, Kids, My Life, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Needs & Wants

  1. mom says:

    You got your wants and needs when you were Chris’ age. What goes around comes around. Get yourself a little Coleman cooler, put the milk, water, ice tea, etc. in it and some paper cups next to it. There… no more trips around the back to the front and back again. Easy. Now think what else can be handled as easily as that and then do it. You’re my son, Alan. Don’t let me down. Be the dad I taught you to be. Just put your head in a pillow and scream. Then go do your dad job. Oh, yes, Happy Father’s Day!!! Love, Mom

    How about if we just move the fridge into the dining room? Maybe that might work better? Because that’s what they (the contractors) did…

Leave a Reply

