Goin’ To The Zoo


Earlier this week, my daughter and I found ourselves with an afternoon to do nothing, so we packed up some snacks and headed to the Cincinnati Zoo. I don’t know where it ranks among zoo’s in the country, but I think it’s a great little place and I wish I could get there more often. Anyway…the zoo has a new entrance that they spent millions to build and many people raised a stink about it earlier in the year. I hadn’t seen it until this day and I gotta say…it’s pretty cool! It’s a lot nicer than the original entrence, which was pretty boring. So here are some pictures of our little trip. Needless to say, we had a good time. But there are some new rules that I have learned…

1. Animals at the zoo are really bored and sleep a lot.

2. Ava will want to get her face painted or she will drive you crazy asking.

3. As soon as you arrive, Ava will want to buy food/drinks/snacks/all of the above.

July 2009 135
The New Entrance

July 2009 136

July 2009 137
Ava didn’t like the elephant smell…

July 2009 141
…which came from here.

July 2009 148
I enjoy a long neck from time to time

July 2009 150
Polar bears are really, really big.

July 2009 155
The lord of the jungle is one lazy cat!

July 2009 164
Gator paws

July 2009 172

July 2009 178
Lots of beautiful things at the zoo…

July 2009 159
Squirrels need food too!

July 2009 144
Pretty as a picture

July 2009 173
Ava dressed up. I dressed down.

This entry was posted in Family Life, Kids, My Life, Silly Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Goin’ To The Zoo

  1. heather says:

    I don’t like how they are making everyone park in the new area and walk so far. What gives? However, they are one of the few places that still allows you to bring in your own food and eat in a picnic area.

  2. What a great afternoon! I love going to the zoo. The animals are much more awake in the fall when the temps are cooler:)

  3. kcalland says:

    Fun! We visited your zoo a while back, but the new entrance was not open yet.

    Going to the zoo is fun … we have a membership at our and go All. The. Time.

  4. kat says:

    Looks like you two had a great day! Tell Ava that her aunt thinks she is B E A U T I F U L.

  5. What a great Dad you are. 🙂

  6. Looks like it was a wonderful daughter-daddy day 🙂

    Ava is adorable!

  7. ruth ann says:

    your such a good dad

  8. mandy says:

    I love the “lots of beautiful things at the zoo” picture! That one is so cute!

Leave a Reply

