The B-52’s vs The Black Eyed Peas


B52vsBEP

Both are 4 person bands. One band got it’s start in Athens, Georgia back in the late 1970’s. The other hails from Los Angeles, California. One band is known for it’s outrageous beehive hairdos, the other for it’s colorful clothing styles. One band has a lead singer who doesn’t sing, he uses a vocal style called “sprechgesang”. The other has a lead singer whose name is “will.i.am” who is a rapper. One band has 2 female leads who have sung successfully with other artists, the other has one female lead who is a very successful solo artist.

Truthfully, there no comparing the two bands other than this…they’re both odd in some way and both have songs that are inane and silly and have that uncanny ability to crawl into your brain and squirm around uncomfortably. And both have songs that lyrically are intellectually stunted.

For example, I give you lyrics from The B-52’s “Cosmic Thing”…

I was havin’ this out-of-body experience
Saw these cosmic beings
Everywhere I went up there, they were shakin’ their cosmic things
Like someone gave ya a wild goose, or a freight train with
A loose caboose

You better shake your… honeybuns! Shake your honeybuns!
Shake it till the butter melts, shake it till the butter melts
Shake that cosmic thing, shake that thing, shake it, ohhhh yeah!
Shake that thing all night long, shake it man you can’t go wrong
Don’t let it rest on the President’s desk, rock the house!

Got that? Okay…now the BEP. Here’s a snippet from their single called “Boom Boom Pow'”…

Here we go, here we go
Satellite radio
Y’all getting hit with (Boom boom)
Beats so big I’m steppin on leprechauns
Shitin’ on y’all you with the (Boom boom)
Shitin’ on y’all you with the (Boom boom)
Shitin’ on y’all you with the…
This beat be bumpin’ bumpin’
This beat go boom boom

Oooookay. ANY band that can drop the word “leprechauns” into a song has got a screw loose somewhere…right?

Now let’s look at some song titles. For the B-52’s, you have “Private Idaho”, “Loveshack”, “Deadbeat Club”, “Rock Lobster”. The BEP have titles like “Smells Like Funk”, “Let’s Get Retarded” and “Don’t Phunk With My Heart”.

As far as music that is not too deep but fun to have pumpin’ out of your stereo, I grew up hearing the sultry voice of Cindy Wilson & Kate Pierson singing about lobsters and places where we can get together, so I’d take The B-52’s over BEP. However, in today’s commercialized radio world, The Black Eyed Peas have a stronghold on the airwaves that is untouchable. I can’t turn on an FM pop station without hearing one of their songs! And that makes them one of the strongest pop bands out there today.

So which is it folks? The B-52’s? Or The Black Eyed Peas?

This should be interesting. But before you decide, allow me to leave you with more lyrical snippets from these bands. I find them to be both very thought provoking…

LYRICS ONE:
Space junk—laser bombs—ozone holes
Better put up my umbrella!
Giant stacks blowin’ smoke
Politicrits pushin’ dope

All I know—we’ve got to change what’s happening
Something good could happen
I feel light has got to come through—and I need it
Something big and lovely.

LYRICS TWO:
What you gonna do with all that junk?
All that junk inside your trunk?
I’m a get, get, get, get you drunk
Get you love drunk off my hump
My hump, my hump
My hump, my hump, my hump
My hump, my hump, my hump
My lovely little lumps
Check it out

Obviously…both have important social messages for our youth. Hmmmm…maybe one of  these bands isn’t as shallow as I thought…

This entry was posted in Silly Stuff, Vs. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The B-52’s vs The Black Eyed Peas

  1. Badass Geek says:

    Pretty sure that is the only time, ever, those two groups will be put in the same sentence.

  2. B-52s! Hands down! Although My Humps does make for an easy karaoke song;)

  3. mom says:

    You’re funny, T.I.W.!! Love…..mom

  4. Danielle-Lee says:

    I love me some BEPs!! They are so incredibly talented, in my mind. Thanks tho-now I’ve got My hump, my hump, my hump, MY HUMP stuck in my head. It’s better than that damn ‘That’s not my name’ by the Ting Tings. FUCCCCCK.

Leave a Reply

