Waking Ava


Getting up in the morning is hard enough, let alone dealing with my 5-year old. As good as she is, she is a pain in the rump to wake up in the morning. And it is usually my responsibility to drag her (literally) out of bed and get her downstairs. Here is a sequence of how my morning goes…

October 2009 285
The Door To Ava’s Room

October 2009 264
She’s In There. Do You See Her?

October 2009 265
Ava…Time To Get Up. Ava? Hellooooo?

October 2009 268
Ava?

So then I have to pick her up and CARRY her downstairs to the couch. I lay her down on the couch just like so…

October 2009 269

I then go make her & her brother (who has been waiting patiently) some oatmeal for breakfast while her mother gets her dressed and fixes her hair (which takes 30 seconds for Ava. With Christopher it takes 30 minutes. Don’t ask me why…).

October 2009 273
Sleeping while eating. A skill mastered by few…

October 2009 275
Christopher, on the other hand, is wide awake.

October 2009 282
A pretty fall day in our hood

Off to school we go. I drop Christopher off at his school first and then I drive Ava to her school. We chat about whatever crosses her mind (her teachers, her friends, art, etc) and listen to music. She likes pop music and is very happy if we hear “Fireflies” by Owl City or anything by Gwen Stefani or the Black Eyed Peas on the way to her school. As I drop her off, one of her teachers greets her at the door. “Love you Ava!” I say, as she gets out of the car. “Love you too Daddy…” she says. And without even looking back she heads to school and is gone.

October 2009 278

Have a good day, Ava Lou Hoo. I love you!

But waking you up in the morning is the bane of my existence…

This entry was posted in Kids, My Life, School Daze, Silly Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Waking Ava

  1. I can totally relate with her! I hate mornings!

  2. Badass Geek says:

    Sleep eating… Not an easy thing to do.

  3. kat says:

    You were always sooooo easy to wake up. huh, pfft…

Leave a Reply

