Top 10 Reasons I Love “Dexter”


dexter

If you haven’t seen “Dexter” on Showtime, you’re missing some quality television viewing. I am not one to sit and watch a lot of tv, but this show has successfully pinned me to my couch for weeks now as my wife & I watch seasons 1-3. We are midway through the 3rd season and the show keeps drawing me in…and tehre are several reasons for that….

10. I believe in the death penalty.
I’ll just leave it at that.

9. Jimmy Smits
He was great in “NYPD Blue” and in the 3rd season of “Dexter” he has been awesome as the one friend that Dexter has who truly understands what he stands for. I don’t know where his plotline is going yet (I’m only 7 episodes in), but I am enjoying his role right now.

8. Jennifer Carpenter
She really IS Dexter’s wife, but on the show she plays his sister and she is one of the best things about the show. She comes across as intelligent & strong, but she has many moments where she is working hard to keep herself composed. All that AND she’s good-looking…

7. The whole cast is awesome!
From the now gone Sgt. James  Doakes to the recently implemented  Detective Quinn, every actor or actress on this show has a defined role and they all make good use of it. My personal favorite? Forensic expert Vince Masuka…who is ALWAYS good for a few awesome explicit jabs.

6. My wife & I BOTH love it!
So our nightly “Dexter” fix is something we do together. And as long as she doesn’t get any ideas from it, it’s a nice way to end the day.

5. The Ice Truck Killer
Best plotline EVER. I was completely blown away by season 1 and I doubt I will ever see anything like it again.

4. Julie Benz is SMOKIN’ hot!
Even my wife agrees with me…with every passing episode she gets even better looking. Seriously…the BEST looking woman on television right now.

benz small

3. Michael C. Hall
As the title character, Hall plays Dexter close to the hip. He’s aloof but personable. He’s opinionated but not overbearing. He has direction but it wavers from time to time. He plays Dexter as he should play Dexter…as a man with a hidden agenda. And Hall makes this character one you can believe in…even if he IS hacking people up and stuffing them into trash bags.

2. The writing
Even with the “Harry” storyline growing a little thin (Harry is Dexter’s deceased father who taught him how to hunt & kill his victims), the writers of the show have managed intriguing plot twists and have turned up the heat every season on Dexter, making him squirm when he needs it and letting him breath at just the right time. I’ve enjoyed all the complications of his life and it has made for some very intriguing television.

1. He’s like me
I think the main reason I enjoy watching this show is because a lot of times, except for the homicidal tendencies, I “get” Dexter. He’s a man on his own. He doesn’t really identify with a lot of people. He is inward. He doesn’t like to be bothered with the drama of others. He goes about his life doing his thing and not regretting it. He isn’t trying to fit in and he doesn’t make excuses when he doesn’t. I like that about a person. And I like that about Dexter. He’s not the kind of person that is gonna go out of his way to fit in. Dexter doesn’t see life as a contest…and being the most popular doesn’t interest him. He is trying to keep his life, his ego & id in check and make sure that the people who mean the most to him don’t get hurt. It’s the best part of his character…and he (and this show) is awesome!

This entry was posted in Television Talk, Top 10 Lists and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Top 10 Reasons I Love “Dexter”

  1. Kensi says:

    I totally agree with you. My son has been trying to get us to watch this show since the first season. My husband and I were sick in bed for a few days and watched all three seasons and started season for in a week! I seriously think this is the best show on television right now…

  2. I rarely watch TV … I’ll have to give it a try.

  3. Badass Geek says:

    Dexter is an awesome show. You’ll love how Season 3 ends.

  4. itsoneoclock says:

    Don’t forget the awesomeness that is Keith Carradine as Special Agent Lundy!

  5. UGH! Even my daughter thinks Michael Hall is too freaking hot for Carpenter. She’s a DAWG, dude. She has a funny expression on her face all the time. Her shorter hair made her better looking, but that’s about the nicest thing I can say about her. Gag. Seriously. I don’t think Rita is too bad looking, but I hate her character on the show. I think being with her is the stupidest mistake that someone like Dexter can make. I also don’t like Batista. I think he’s a poor speaker, and that bothers me.

    Other than that, I love the show. It’s not as awesome as True Blood, and nothing beats House (for me) but it’s one of the best shows on currently.

  6. kat says:

    Bill and I did the same thing as you and Steph. We watched the first 3 seasons earlier this year and it was ALOT of fun to stay up really late together. I was sooo happy that I found a show that he would give up WOW for. (Sorry for ending my sentence with a prep, mom).
    The first episode of this year was a great start, but watching week to week sucks. We decided we liked watching them all at once, so we’re waiting till the season ends and we can watch them all. So if you catch up to the current, don’t write about it.
    P.S. True Blood is frickin great! (if you like dirty vamp shows…. and I do)

  7. This is one of my favorite shows EVER.

    I have to disagree with you on Julie Benz though. I absolutely HATE her whiny-ass character on Dexter. I have waited patiently through three and a half seasons for one of Dexters bad guys to hurry up and chop her into pieces or something.

    Yeah…but she’s HOT. That HAS to account for something!

  8. Yup, great show. I can’t wait till you watch season 04, in which there is my favorite kill-scene EVER! My wife and I love this show and love watching it together as well. When you’re ready for Season 04, let me know 😉

    My wife and I love True Blood too!

    @kat (or if anyone else is interested :

    True Blood Halloween Party 10/31/2009 9pm at the Park Street Tavern!

  9. PsychoCunt says:

    So you relate to a sociopath? Great. You and me would be best friends!

Leave a Reply

