A Mind Is A Terrible Thing


IMG_0384
Would YOU remember THIS face?

Hey! How are you! Wow…so many years have passed, huh? You look fantastic! Are you married? Kids? What do you do? Where do you live now? Do I remember what? Oh…yeah…THAT incident! How funny that you remember that! Wow…yeah…so many years ago…huh…

Wait a second. Hang on…

Ya know…I have to be the first to admit…I have no idea who you are. Look…please don’t take it personally because I know that I’m not the kind of person who remembers everyone who I have ever crossed paths with. But lately I have had people from my childhood contact me and…uh…I don’t remember them. And I feel like an ass.

I’m gonna be 41 in a month. The last time I can honestly say I remember seeing some of these friends are maybe 30 years ago. And I DO remember moments. Moments like when I would play on the playground at school and me and some other kid in my class had the same “Fonzie” shirt (stupid shirt!). Or the time I got busted in class eating candy because a girl in my class TOLD on me (stupid girl!). Or the time I was at the park and some guy flipped me off from his car and when I flipped him off back he chased me down and threatened to beat the crap out of me…until he figured out I was 7 years younger than he was (stupid guy!). So many fond memories of back in the day…yet the memory of you is not there. Why is that?

At this point, I can’t imagine who else is gonna find me but I have to imagine I won’t remember them either. I don’t know what is going on with me. I can remember a whole slew of worthless crap (need a song from the 80’s? I probably remember it. Wanna know some useless movie knowledge? I can probably get that out of my brainiac archives as well), but when it comes to people who have been in my life and who I spent time with and who I should remember? Nada. I’m drawing a blank.

What is it with the head? How is it possible that I can’t recall some of the people who have “Friended” me on Facebook or who have contacted me through other networking sites. They say the brain can only retain so much information. I imagine it remembers what I want it to remember. It remembers what I enjoy remembering. It is just a muscle…and it has its limitations. Mine definitely has its limits. And mine is limited to about 1980.

So for all those friends who have found me again and who actually remember me…thank you. I certainly appreciate that I made an impression on you and I find it amazing you remember me. But forgive me if my brain has been overloaded through the years and I can’t recall who you are or where I know you from. I’m a partially stunted social idiot and thinks have started to slip. It’s old age, I tell you! Okay…now that I got that out…let’s get back to what we were chatting about…

Uh…

What WERE we chatting about again?

This entry was posted in My Life, Silly Stuff, Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Mind Is A Terrible Thing

  1. I really don’t think I know some of the people that have friended me on FB. A recent one, I am convinced, was a real estate agent looking for contacts. I am positive that I have never laid eyes on that person before. Did I accept the friend request? Of course, I am a friend whore:)

  2. A lot of the names look familiar, but sometimes people don’t have a picture, so I can’t always place them, but I know I went to school with them. I found some pictures and stuff recently, of people who wrote things that should have made it obvious we hung out, and I just don’t remember. I can’t even remember names of teachers I had.

    Hell…I don’t remember hardly ANY of my teachers except for a few! Some people (like my wife) remember ALL of them from K-12 & through college. I can’t remember 1 college professor. Isn’t that odd?

  3. Blah la Blah says:

    I think I know about 75% of my ‘friends’ on FB. I came to notice a lot of people add me because we have mutual friends and attended the same school. So, I think they feel obligated to send the request. Then I worry that they remember me and I have forgotten them, so I add out of guilt. They never message or anything.
    But I did add one that it took me about 6 months to figure out he is now going by his first name (rather than the middle name I knew). And in his photo he was wearing some dredlock wig thing. I had no clue who he was. Then one day it clicked. Took a long time though.
    I feel your Facebook Friend pain.

  4. kat says:

    Don’t feel bad. I have been friended by a few on fb from my graduating class that I don’t recognize nor remember in any way and my class was less than 40 people. Now that’s pathetic! In my defense, I did go through h.s. in a complete daze…

  5. mom says:

    When were you NOT in a daze, Katheryn? Love…your friend

Leave a Reply

