Top 10 Reasons To Give Thanks


Thanksgiving is a time for remembering. Remembering those you love, remembering those you’ve lost and remembering all of the things that mean something in your life. I have many reasons to be thankful, but there are definitely 10 reasons that stand out in my mind…

10. My job
Because of it, I am who I am. It allows me freedom. It allows me creativity. It has allowed me to see the world and meet some pretty amazing people. I love my job and all that it entails.
I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

9. My home
With the addition of our new kitchen this past summer, our house is more of a home than ever. And as the kids grow, I learn to love all of it’s little nuances. It’s been around for over 60 years and we’ve been in it for a little over 7. We’ve made a lot of changes and have added a couple of children that have given this old home a heartbeat.
I wouldn’t trade it for anything (except possibly a larger master bedroom with a bath).

8. My health
2 years ago I was in the worst pain I have ever been in in my life. Back pain, sciatica and physical therapy visits caused me more anguish than I would like to admit. However now I am recovering and feeling much better (knock on wood). Here’s hoping for a physically active and pain-free  2010 and beyond.

7. My families health
Sure…we’ve had some doctor bills…but comparing our home to some, we have been pretty lucky. My kids are healthy, my wife is healthy and our pets…?
Well…Barkley had that anal gland issue. But we won’t get into that…

6. My friends
Without them, I couldn’t survive. I wish I could express to them how important they are to me and my family. Even those friends who I haven’t seen in years have come back to become a part of my life again (via the world wide web) and it’s been great getting to know them all over again. Without friends, life would be very dark & boring. You make my life a lot more interesting!
Thank you for being a part of my life.

5. My family
There is nothing more important than family and anyone who knows me knows how important my Mom, Dad and my siblings are to me. Even though we have all have things in our lives that keep us busy, we never seem to lose track of each other. As I’ve gotten older, their importance to me has grown and I can’t even express the love I have for each of them.
I can only hope that 2010 holds bigger and better things for each of them!

4. My wife
She deals with me. She loves me. And she keeps my life in perspective. She really has my heart in her hands and, try as I might, I can’t seem to wrestle it back from her. She keeps me focused on being the best person I can be because she is so charitable & loving. It’s a competition I know I can’t win…but I’m gonna keep trying!

3. My son
He is the light of my life. Christopher has worked so hard this year with school, sports and growing up. At age 7 he is developed a strong sense of humor and is the best friend your son could have. He’s the spitting image of me at his age and it’s amazing watching him grow. I can only hope his life continues to be as adventurous and exciting as mine was and I truly think he is on a path to being an amazing man someday.

2. My daughter
If there is one person who has shown me how much I can change, it’s my daughter. Ava has grown physically and mentally so much this year and she is making huge leaps in school and in her overall development. She brings out the kid in me when she wants to play or whenever she simply wants to talk. Everything she does is magic and I can’t help but being swept away by her spell. I know she is going to grow up and not need me as much as she does now. And that is why I am enjoying every second of every day with her.

1. My life
I have truly been blessed. No matter how much I complain or moan, there is no one luckier than I. I am the luckiest man on earth and I know it.

Thank you for reading & Happy Thanksgiving to you & yours.

This entry was posted in My Life, Top 10 Lists and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top 10 Reasons To Give Thanks

  1. ruth ann says:

    WOW, your blogs always make me cry “happy tears” Yes you are truly blessed with a great wife and 2 perfect children!!!!

  2. mom says:

    Alan: we are all blessed to have you, Steph and the kids. No one will love you (and family) more than I. I hope 2010 will be twice as great as 2009 is turning out to be! Love…..mom

  3. Chuck says:

    Alan,

    What a wonderful blog! I wish I could be your neighbor, so our kids could play together, our wives could chat and complain about us and that I could give you another basketball lesson like the days at the square. You’re so blessed.

    And always, much love to you guys!! Miss all of you very much!!

    Miss you too buddy! Hopefully this summer we can get the families together! Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Badass Geek says:

    Amen, brother. Hope you have a great Thanksgiving.

    Thanks man! You too!

  5. This really beautiful! The best thanksgiving post I’ve read. I love what you said about your wife–just lovely.

  6. great post and blog. keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

