41


So now I’m officially IN my 40’s. I’m not 40 anymore. I’m IN my 40’s. And I’m not sure how I feel about that. I guess I’m fine with it. There’s nothing I can do about it really. I mean…time keeps on tickin’ and I keep getting older. Seems like that’s the way it goes so there’s no use in harping on it. I’m just getting older. And that I’m okay with…I think.

I wish I had some clue to what the future might bring. Like that tv show “FlashForward”. Just a 2 minute & 17 second glimpse to know that I’ll live to see 42. But no one ever really knows. We just keep waking up and living our lives and eventually we find out. We find out what our future brings. What I have learned in my 41 years is that life happens. There’s nothing you can do about it but get to it and face the issues and hope for all the best.

I am a very lucky man. I have all the things many people want. I have a good family, a good home, a good job, good friends. I got it pretty good! And at 41 years old, I couldn’t ask for much more than that. I have plenty of questions that have gone unanswered, but maybe that’s not a bad thing. It’s nice not knowing every little detail about everything…right? Just let it happen and keep the ball rolling.

Anyway…today I’m 41 years old. I’m feeling pretty good about it. And for this year, I hope that I can learn more about myself and pay more attention to the little things. It’s in the little things that we learn who & what we are. I need to pay more attention to those things. And learn to appreciate them as I go.

Aaaaaaand…that’s pretty much it…

This entry was posted in My Life, Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 41

  1. mandy says:

    Happy birthday big bro!

  2. Amber says:

    Happy Birthday!!!

  3. Happy Birthday again!
    My response to being 41 would be to have a crisis. Isn’t that what you’re supposed to do?

  4. mom says:

    Happy Birthday, baby boy, ‘lil Al and all the other things I called you when you were small. Don’t worry. They were all good things!!! Love to my baby boy!!! Mom

  5. ruth ann says:

    Happy Birtday Alan!!!!

  6. Happy Bday!!! Hope it was a great one! 🙂

  7. Happy Birthday! Sheeeeeesh you’re getting old! : )

  8. kat says:

    Happy Birthday Alan!! Hope you had a great one!

Leave a Reply

