Goodbye Bootsie


In healthier days

Since 1994, Bootsie has been a part of my life. She has been a faithful companion and a very good cat. She has never been the most personable feline, but that’s okay…because her sister, KC (who passed away a couple of years ago), was the more approachable one. I’ll never forget when it came time to get a new kitten many years ago, it was Bootsie that cried when we went to take KC out of the cage, letting us know that she refused to be separated from her sister. So many years later, she is the last of the two and still doesn’t like to be held at all, but she has a way of letting you know when she wants to be petted (usually nudging your elbow or pawing at you softly).

Bootsie & Christopher

Now Bootsie is on her last legs. Her hearing is gone, her body has become frail and she has developed some bad habits (such as howling at all hours of the night and pooping on the floor) that tells me that she has reached an age where it’s her time. As much as our family loves her, she is a little over 84 years old in cat years and she is deteriorating.  It will be hard for me to say goodbye, much like it was when I had her sister put to sleep not so long ago. She has been with me through so much and she has been so even keel about it all. Even with the addition of 2 kids, a dog and quite a few moves to different homes and she has remained the same personality as the day I brought her home.

“Bookie” & Ava

Bootsie (or “Bookie,” as Ava called her when she was younger) has been so important to me through all these years and I don’t want to find her lying on the floor, dead from some unseen illness like another family pet we had a few years back. No…that to me seems wrong. Instead, I want to be there in the end and hold her and let her know I love her. To me that will mean more than if I let her wither away.

So this is Bootsie’s last day with us. Here are a few of the pictures taken at times throughout her life. Bootsie has been wonderful and I know that she will be welcomed in heaven with open arms. And I assume KC, Phoebe and Buster will be waiting there with her, eager to play and chase and groom the way they used to so many years ago.

Goodbye dear Bootsie. We all love you very much and you will be missed dearly…



Goodbye sweet kitten. We love you

This entry was posted in Family Life, My Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Goodbye Bootsie

  1. john tapogna says:

    So very sorry to hear about bootsie…..animals have an amazing ability to nurture compassion and calm in our lives while needing so little in return. I know that alex,darryl,raven,oscar and scrappy will have a new buddy to play with in animal heaven.

  2. I’m very sorry. My brother and his family just lost a cat they’d had for 11 years. So sad.

  3. Lori Shuster says:

    I am sorry about your loss. I understand what you are going through. I lost my best friend about 3 months ago and there is still not a day that goes by that i do not think of him. he was a part of our lives for 13 years. And some people just do not understand the bond that forms between a pet and it ower. Well i do and i hope you will be ok and know that she is at the Rainbow Bridge waiting for you and you will once again be reunited with her and her sister and buster.

  4. rob says:

    ♥ I’m so sorry for your loss, we lost a close cat not too long ago, not the first and I’m sure not the last.

    It’s one of the hardest things life throws at us to lose a family member 😦

    Best wishes,

    -rob

  5. kat says:

    I’m really sorry Alan.

  6. Dang dude, sorry to hear 😦

    My wife and I have an older kitteh as well, so this story really hits home. Sounds like she had a long and happy life though. I think you’re doing it the right way. Our thoughts are with you in this moment

    ❤

Leave a Reply

