Let The Madness Begin!


This is their year!

I LOVE this time of year. So much excitement! So much basketball! It’s taylor made for a former hoops junkie like me. And I’m even luckier because I get to be smack dab in the middle of it. This year, CBS has me in Washington, DC for the 2nd & 3rd round and then I’m off to New Orleans for the regional. Unlike last year, I won’t be participating in the Final Four. No 3D this year so that means I’m out but that’s okay. Sometimes it’s nice to have something to work for. Last year was the highlight of my career and I got to see a great Final with Duke barely winning over Butler. This season, I’m hoping my Buckeyes can run the table and win a National Championship but we’ll see. Maybe it will be better if they do it and I can watch from the comfort of my own couch? Sounds good to me! In a nutshell, here’s what I’m predicting for this year’s NCAA Tournament…

This year in Dayton there are 4 “play-in” games that the NCAA is now calling the 1st Round. Looking at the 8 teams, I think I can pretty much predict that none of them are gonnamake it past Round 2 so I’m not gonna bother with it.

2nd Round action I’m calling these big games: Villanova over George Mason…barely, Xavier over Marquette…barely, Tennessee over Michigan…barely, Oakland will push Texas’ buttons but lose, Penn State will upset Temple, Richmond over Vanderbilt in a dogfight, Gonzaga’s experience takes down St. John’s and Michigan State knocks off UCLA.

From there it pretty much goes by the book except for one game…I’m picking Arizona over Duke. Dunno why…but I’m thinking there has to be at least one upset…right?

So my picks for the Final Four? Ohio State, Arizona, Notre Dame & Pittsburgh.

Ohio State will catch on fire against Arizona and Sullinger will dominate in the middle as they win easily. Then in the nightcap, two Big East foes go at it in a knockdown, drag out with Notre Dame taking the win. However it takes a toll on them as the next night Ohio State puts on a shooting clinic and ND can’t stop them in the 2nd half.

Final score: Ohio State 72, Notre Dame 59

And that’s what I’m going with…but I wouldn’t put money on it.

This entry was posted in Sports Talk and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Let The Madness Begin!

  1. Here are my picks:

    https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/pYwTQS0tvJpS2bMN3aeryQ?feat=directlink

    Anyone who wants to join can go to http://www.tonyburkhart.com and click the NCAA picks tab! Feel free to join 🙂

    Ok! I did!

  2. mandy says:

    Thank you for this post! Now I won’t have to resort to my tried-and-never-true methods for filling out my brackets this year!
    Method 1: Is OSU playing? (Actually not a bad strategy this year)
    Method 2: Which name is more fun to say? (Gonzoga!)
    Method 3: Flip a coin.

  3. Mandy – that strategy works better than you think! Stick with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

