Top 10 Things To Do This Summer


Planning on seeing more of this lady this summer…

Well…the hectic part of my year is over and now? Now I got lots of time off. According to my calendar, I have 6 days of work in a little over a month. So what does this mean? Lots of time to hang out with my kids and get some things done around the house. The only problem with this time of year is that I tend to stress about money a lot. And I ask…wouldn’t you? In today’s economic environment, it’s hard NOT to stress about money, even when there’s some coming in. So to not have anything coming in will probably send my ulcers into overload. But this year I’m gonna do my best not to stress about it. I figure there’s a reason to make money and that’s to spend it…right?

So I’ve compiled a list of the Top 10 Things To Do This Summer for myself. I imagine I’ll accomplish a few of them, start a few more and then be a complete failure on at least 2 of them. But I gotta start somewhere and this list will, at least, keep me focused for a short time…

10. Get to the gym.
Oh I know…I’ve had this one before but I’m thinking I can get down to a svelt 180 by the end of the summer. I’ve got this tire sitting around my waist that I just KNOW I can get rid of with a little focus and if I watch what I eat (and drink) during the summer. Being on the road most of the winter, I eat like crap so now is my time to be a little better about it.

9. Wash our cars myself.
I tend to want to wimp out when it comes to caring for our family cars but this year I plan on washing them and cleaning them myself. It takes a couple of hours but I always have fun when I do it so I don’t know why I don’t do it more often!

8. Take some time and tend to my yard work.
I can’t tell you how much I actually enjoy working in my yard but by mid-summer I’m ready to call it a season. It gets hot and sweaty and after about 30 minutes out in the summer sun I get burned out. But this year I want to care for our flowers we just planted and take out those pesky weeds that have managed to infiltrate our yard.

7. Attend Christopher’s baseball games.
This one is already in motion. I have taken a couple weekends off  when I could be working to spend with Christopher as his team travels to other cities to compete. We will be taking trips to Louisville and Indianapolis and I am totally looking forward to it!

6. Work on the upstairs bathroom.
I swear, our upstairs bathroom is a mess and I can’t even begin to understand why I haven’t tackled this project sooner (like…5 years ago). But the wallpaper is a disaster, the sink is straight out of the Brady Bunch home and it just needs a complete overhaul. I realize I’m not the most qualified to start ripping up my house but I figure this project is something I can (and should) get moving on. Hey…it’s why God gave us 2 hands and thumbs, right?

5. Visit my family a little more.
Last year I was so busy I only got home to visit my family once. This year…I think I can manage a few trips. Granted, gas prices are high enough right now that it kind of deflates me to think that driving 3 ours to visit my family will cost me the same amount as my electric bill but it’s important to me and my kids that we get to see Grandma & Grandpa and all their aunts, uncles and cousins. So…it’s worth it!

4. Teach Ava how to dribble a basketball.
Hey…the girl wants to play basketball and if there’s one thing I KNOW I can teach her it’s the game of basketball. I don’t know much but I DO know how to dribble!

3. Spend quality time with my family.
Last year at this time, family time was the last thing on my mind. This year, it’s my highest priority. Funny what difference a year can make.

2. Take time to enjoy myself.
Oh I know…I have the perfect job, I make good money, I get to travel, blah blah blah. Well…until you’ve walked 2 miles in my shoes, no one knows how hectic my life really can be. So now I have some free time, I’m gonna do what I want to do…namely take some time for myself. I have a Seattle/U2 trip coming up with my high school friends in June and I hope to spend more time with my friends here in the ‘Nati this season, maybe see a couple of concerts, go to the movies, whatever it takes! I have been gone too long and I’m ready to enjoy some of the fruits of my labor!

1. Don’t stress about money.
This will be the deal-breaker here. As my family can attest, I can become a real asshat when the bills start coming in and the bank account begins to drain but I am learning there is much more to life than watching the dollar signs. I can get a little lost sometimes in all the money woes but that is a part of my job. This summer? I’m not gonna sweat it. I imagine once the summer gets rolling along I might start to become more concerned about it but I need to breath and focus on not letting it consume me. With a little help (namely my wife) I think I can do it!

And that’s it. This summer is gonna be a big deal for me. I’m gonna change quite a bit, I can feel it so be ready for some interesting writing coming up here soon!

This entry was posted in My Life, Top 10 Lists and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top 10 Things To Do This Summer

  1. Sounds like a perfect plan! Now take off your shoes and sit a spell…:)

  2. mom & dad says:

    The door’s unlocked and we’re keeping the light on for you!! Love….mom

  3. chuck says:

    cool list

Leave a Reply

