So I Won An Award…


A few years ago, my crew & I won an award for our work at The Masters. It was a technical achievement award called a Global Media Award. It was a very nice gesture but the award would have cost me $400 and I dunno that I was ready to pony up 4 bones for an award no one has ever heard of (and if you say you have you’re a liar).

So now there’s a NEW announcement. This year the entire CBS crew at The Masters has won a little award called an Emmy and I’m one of the crew so…I gets one. Except the only problem is…it’s $400.

Now…$400 buys a lot of stuff. It buys groceries to feed my kids. It pays for gas to put in my wife’s car. It buys my son’s football gear so he can play little league football. It buys my daughter her violin lessons and rents her instrument. $400 is a lot of money when you’re on a budget and I’m trying to decide…

Do I buy myself an award?

I don’t know about you but I’ve always thought an award was something you WON and then it was GIVEN to you for your achievements. But apparently that is not the case. So as much as I WANT to be excited about this “achievement” (because I AM proud of my work at Augusta and I love our crew there!) I’m finding it difficult because of the expense. $400 for an award just seems…gratuitous? It’s flattering (of course) but I am thinking this…

Our economy kind of stinks right now. The Academy Of Television Arts & Sciences probably needs money as much as anyone. So why not give the technical achievement award to the event with the most people and then charge them $400 a head? With over 500 technicians working The Masters I have to imagine that’s a pretty large chunk of change for them! And that’s all well and good considering it IS an Emmy, for crying out loud! It’s the ultimate achievement if you’re in my business and it SHOULD be flattering! But I dunno…

For $400 I don’t feel so flattered. I feel more deflated. ‘Cause I would LOVE to have one of these statues to sit in my closet! I could hang my ties on it or maybe put some candles on it or maybe I could pop it off the base and put it on the hood of my Saturn (monthly payment only $325!) and drive around my town here in Cincinnati. It would be instant street cred! But I’m just not so sure.

$400? For a statue that will sit…where? I can’t sit it out in my little cape cod. It would look ridiculous. Would my kids think its cool? My wife? My friends? My family? Who cares really? I really enjoy my job and I imagine I probably should have plenty of these things lying around the house if you consider the amount of times I’ve had to avert disaster on a show. My machine blows up, the hard drive doesn’t work, the producer forgot the graphics drive, the truck wasn’t ordered. You name it, I’ve probably seen it. And for THOSE events I imagine I deserve an award. So maybe I will get this award for myself and I won’t consider it to be only for The 2010 Masters. The Masters is a great event but it’s not the only reason I have to be proud. I do my job to the best of my ability and I don’t really need an award to feel good about what I do.

But it IS an Emmy.

But it costs $400.

*sigh*

I hate making these decisions. Anyone have any thoughts?

This entry was posted in My Life, Sports Talk, Television Talk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So I Won An Award…

  1. mandy says:

    First: Congratulations!!! That’s awesome!!!
    Second: I have to thank you for giving me yet another thing to brag about to the guys at work…”hey guys, you know that brother of mine who has that job you’re all jealous of, the one who gets to travel the world attending sporting events…yeah, he just won an emmy…”
    Third: So, will it have your name on it? ‘Cause for $400 I would think it should have your name on it and not just say “Technical Crewmember.”
    Fourth: If you do decide to get it, let me know and I’ll chip in on it as your birthday/Christmas present…I was planning to buy you a hood ornament for your Saturn this year anyway.

    It will have my name on it but I’m thinking it might be more fun to get something put on it like “Snidely Whiplash” or “That One Guy Who Sits On Facebook All Day.”

  2. Amber says:

    Awesome Alan! There is no limit to your coolness. And I guarantee Christopher and Ava would LOVE to brag about it to their friends… I’m gonna.

    Thanks sis but trust me…I’m anything but “cool.” Love ya! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. kat says:

    There is no denying your coolness Alan! This is awesome and you deserve this! And I’m with Mandy, I was totally going to buy you a hood ornament this year too so I would appreciate the chance to contribute so it will save me the shopping around for the perfect one ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Frank says:

    You had better get it, the only other chance at an award like this will be when we produce a remake of “Night of the Comet” in 2015 and win an Oscar. Think, that will mean you have an Emmy and and Oscar. After that it’s a Grammy for the hat trick!

    Oh yeah! I can see that happening…

Leave a Reply

