Sciatica Sleep Schedule


Just cause rainbows & beaches make me sleepy…

So this week I’m in Atlanta Johns Creek, GA working the 93rd PGA Championship for CBS & Direct TV. I’m working in the Par 3 truck. What does that mean? It means we only cover the 4 holes that are par 3’s. So I will get to see a lot of high-arcing tee shots and possibly a hole-in-one (if I’m lucky). Anyway, our crew is staying at a local Marriott with quite possibly the hardest mattresses that money can buy. Needless to say, it’s been rough on me with this %#$@^# bulging disc I have in my lower back. So for the past 3 nights, I have managed to hit the hot tub in the gym and then settle into my room for a long night of tossing & turning. Here has been my sleep schedule. Seriously…over…it…

8pm – Eat dinner

9pm – Take 1 cyclobenzaprine tablet, 1 oxycodone tablet and 2 Tylanol PM.

9:30 – Lie down on left side, pillow between my legs and a slight buzzing in my right buttcheek.

10 to 10:15 – Fall asleep with tv on and iPhone by my side.

12am – Wake up with my back & right leg SCREAMING at me. The pain shoots down my right hip to my foot. I can barely walk as I get up.

12:10 – I get in the shower and crank up the hot water.

12:40 – I get out of shower, leg & back calmer but still has a throbbing sensation.

12:45 – Climb back into bed, watch infomercial or Weather Channel.

12:47 – Start tossing & turning, try to find a position that is comfortable to sleep in.

1am – Fall back to sleep.

3:35am – Go back to 12am and repeat.

5am – Go back to 12am and repeat.

5:47 – Don’t go back to sleep. This time the pain restarts when I lay down.

6am – Can’t get comfortable. Get up and take 1 oxycodone and 3 Aleve tablets.

6:50 – Get up and get in shower.

7:30 – Meet in hotel lobby and go to work. Get Dunkin Donuts coffee. This gives me 4 hours until the pain starts to make me a little crazy.

And that’s how it has been for 3 straight nights (except for this morning. This morning I went down and sat in the hot tub at 6am for 30 minutes. It feels great…until I get out). This sciatica thing sucks. I can’t wait until next week. I have 2 orthopedic appointments and I’m hoping to begin physical therapy and possibly get an epidural (or two) for this pain that won’t go away.

I know we all have aches & pains in our lives but I’m pretty much over this. I’m tired, cranky and the constant pain is wearing me out. So lets get this over with so I can go home already!!!

That is all.    😡

This entry was posted in My Life, Silly Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sciatica Sleep Schedule

  1. ruthieann613 says:

    I really hope they find a way to help you with your pain. I know all about the pain thing. No amount of pain medicine will help. A week straight of migraines made me insane at times. I am praying for you alan.
    Love You

  2. Amber says:

    So sorry to hear you’re still in pain. I can’t stop throwing up. I’ve lost 6lbs, have been in the emergency room for iv, admitted to labor for iv, released and my doctor wants me to go back in. Which is better than the home therapy he suggested where I would have a machine hooked to one leg pumping me with med 24/7 and an iv hooked to my arm for 10 hours a day. Erik would rip that out so fast! I have decided to take care of it myself but since I can no longer lift my son my little sis-in-law is staying with me to help with Erik. Aren’t we a pair!
    Hope you are doing better. Love always!

Leave a Reply

