My Final Emmy Blog


Okay…I was awarded an Emmy by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences for my work at the 2010 Masters. It’s an honor and I’m proud of the work I’ve done…not just on that event but for many of the jobs I have been a part of throughout the years. If I had to narrow down my 3 favorite events that I have worked, I would have to say, in this order…

  1. 2010 NCAA Final Four (a dream come true!)
  2. 2011 Masters when Charl Schwartzel pulled away from the pack to win with 4 straight birdies to end the round (a classic!)
  3. The walk off home run by Jay Bruce that got the Reds into the playoffs in 2010 (a great moment in a season full of them).

Obviously I have seen many great sports moments: the Jaguars Hail Mary win in 2010, the Ohio State/Tennessee Sweet 16 game in the 2010 NCAA Tourney, Laila Ali defeating Monica Nunez in Louisville in 2004, Andre Agassi’s last stand in the 2006 U.S. Open (his night match vs Marcos Baghdatis is a classic!) and many more that I can’t think of right now. I have a great job and have been very lucky to be a part of many great crews throughout my career.

So what does this Emmy mean to me? Well…I dunno. It’s flattering (of course) and I feel as if I’ve accomplished “something.” What that “something” is? I’m not sure. I don’t think I really ever needed to win anything to feel like I’m doing a good job. I mean, I work in television sports graphics. Granted, if I don’t do my job correctly, you don’t know the score of the game or Joey Votto’s current batting average or Aaron Rodger’s passer rating or how much money Chris Barnes has won in his 13-year bowling career or…well…you get the idea. Is it important? Probably not. There are hundreds of occupations that are far more important than mine. That being said, I am honored to be a recipient of an Emmy award. But, so as not to get TOO big a head, here’s how my family puts me in my place…

Oops!

AJ thought it was cool!

I think maybe it COULD make a good necklace…

To all my friends who read this blog and those who are on Facebook who posted such nice comments, thank you! I certainly appreciate them! ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in A Look Back, My Life, Sports Talk, Television Talk, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Final Emmy Blog

  1. Wow – congratulations!
    Fantastic!

Leave a Reply

