Homework Breakdown


Can I just tell you…one of the joys of parenting has been the load of homework that my 4th grader has been bringing home every night. Between English and Science and Math and Art and Reading and THEN he has football practice (which ends this week thankfully…), it has been like pulling teeth to get it all done and make sure that he understands it all. For the most part, he has been an excellent student. Sure he gets a little unfocused at times but the kid has a lot on his plate and under the circumstances, he handles it pretty well…

Until today.

Today was the breaking point. I wish I could have recorded it for the future to show him because it was MUCH funnier than what I’m about to write but I gotta tell you, he was at his breaking point and so…it went like this…

(Ava is at one side of the table working on her math problems. Her math consists of counting coins. Pennies, dimes, nickels, quarters, half dollars, etc. Christopher is on the other side of the table doing long division problems.)

Ava: “So if I add 3 pennies to 2 dimes I get 23 cents…right?

Me: “Yep! Good job Ava! You’re getting it!”

Christopher: “I need help.”

Ava: “But on the next I can’t use dimes…right? I have to use nickels?”

Christopher: “I don’t get this. I need help.”

Me: “That’s right, Ava. Don’t use dimes. How many nickels makes up a dime?”

Ava: “Two.”

Me: “Correct…so you can use how many nickels and how many pennies to make 23 cents?”

Christopher: (in serious panic mode) “SERIOUSLY?!?! I’M OVER HERE TRYING TO DIVIDE 3,567 BY 3 AND I HAVE ALL THESE NUMBERS AND I NEED HELP AND SHE’S WORKING WITH PENNIES AND YOU WON’T HELP ME?!?! IT’S PENNIES! 1+1 EQUALS 2. WHAT’S SO HARD ABOUT THAT?!?! IT’S JUST PENNIES! I’M TRYING TO DIVIDE BY THE THOUSANDS AND SHE’S WORKING WITH PENNIES AND NICKELS? HOW MUCH EASIER CAN IT BE???”

Ava & I both stop to look at him. His face is red and I can tell he is completely frustrated.

And we both start laughing at him. At first he just stared at us…and then he started laughing also.

“It’s not funny, you guys! This stuff is hard!”

And then we laughed even harder!

Poor guy. No one gives him any sympathy. LOL!

This entry was posted in Kids, Konversations With Kids and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homework Breakdown

  1. mandy says:

    I can definitely imagine that scene, especially since I just lived through it on Monday night with the girls (only it was Calculus vs Algebra instead of Long Division vs Currency). So you expect many more of these “fun” times in the years to come 🙂

Leave a Reply

