43 Years, 2 Days Old Knowledge I Give You…


Sorry…I can’t. I’m watching my girlish figure…

So my 43rd birthday came & went with but a whimper. Not a lot to it. I was in Pittsburgh working so I spent 15 hours in a television truck. In Pittsburgh. But it was a balmy 40+ degrees outside so I had THAT going for me.

Aaaaaanyway…

I haven’t been posting much since I’ve been flying & driving all over the country and I’m a little exhausted but I figured that someday my kids might want to go back and read about their dad’s 43rd birthday and they may have some questions. I know I do. But they didn’t have this intranet thing back when MY dad was 43 and I’m pretty sure he wouldn’t have had anything to do with this nonsense anyway. He had 6 kids and 50 acres and a restaurant to take care of. I, on the other hand, don’t. So here are some bits of knowledge that I have picked up along the way that my children (and yourself) may…or probably may not…find useful…

  1. Don’t overeat. It makes you bloated and gassy.
  2. You don’t always WANT to know what is behind the hotel nightstand. You might THINK you want to know…but you don’t. Really.
  3. Doesn’t matter how old you are, a good pop song is a great way to start the day.
  4. If you don’t know what you’re doing, fake it. It’s better to LOOK like you know what you’re doing than to look like a total idiot. This does NOT work in the case of being married. Because your partner already knows you’re an idiot. So there’s that…
  5. Doesn’t matter how old you are, a good pop tart is a great way to start the day. Especially the ones with sprinkles on the icing.
  6. If you think life is going to go as you planned, think again. Life kinda screws with you like that.
  7. ALWAYS go with your gut instinct. Every time. ‘Cause the second you don’t, you realize you should have and then you wish you had and then you’re stuck. And life is too short to have THAT hanging over your head.
  8. If something aches, don’t ignore it. ‘Cause it will definitely be back the next day…especially after the age of 38.
  9. Having children is a Catch 22. They are awesome and wonderful and exasperating and ridiculous all at the same time. If I could even explain the sheer amount of love & frustration that I have daily, I would be a millionaire. Because THAT would be a best-seller.
  10. Don’t allow your job to define who you are. The minute that happens, you realize that your life isn’t as important as you would like to think it is.
  11. Never EVER eat something you don’t like. Seriously…it’s not worth the after-taste. And I don’t care HOW healthy lima beans are…
  12. If you’re on the aisle row, be aware that the person near the window needs a little elbow room also. Thought I’d throw that one in as a precautionary tale.
  13.  TV might be bad for ya…but it’s paid the bills for me since I was 18. That’s all I got to say about that.
  14. A good movie is like good sex. It needs to start quick, have a lot of drama in the middle and then end with a bang. I am, of course, speaking metaphorically.
  15. Never underestimate the power of love. But it’s not all roses and rainbows. Sometimes it’s ugly and mean and incoherent. But that’s all a part of it. If it’s not passionate, it can just get stale.
  16. Stay focused on where it’s all going. Wandering off the beaten path happens from time to time but if you get lost, that’s why you have family & friends. Do NOT rely on a GPS for that.
  17. Never, ever go to a Motley Crue concert without earbuds. I’m pretty sure I lost 10 decibals of hearing that night.

And that’s all I got for now. 43 years all wrapped up in 17 bullet points. Hopefully the next year will continue to find my life on a focused and unhurried path. Buuuut we all know that probably won’t happen. The years are flying by faster and faster and my kids are getting bigger and bigger and eventually…I’ll be playin’ golf everyday like my Dad is now. Kinda looking forward to that actually…

This entry was posted in A Look Back, My Life, Silly Stuff, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 43 Years, 2 Days Old Knowledge I Give You…

  1. Amber says:

    Agree to all…especially the lima beans. Love you!

Leave a Reply

